TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Homelink

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by iridium, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. iridium

    iridium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    In the tech package, what exactly does Homelink do? Is it a fancy garage door opener or is there more to it?
     
  2. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,752
    Location:
    Texas
    Besides garage doors, Homelink can open gates, turn on lights, and basically control other Homelink devices.
     
  3. iridium

    iridium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Ahh.. see I don't have any of those cool toys. :) So I guess if I don't get the tech package then I need to use the lame remote that came with my garage door opener.
     
  4. Thumper

    Thumper Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    580
    Location:
    Corvallis, OR
    HomeLink

    Homelink is a product which auto manufacturers buy from Johnson Controls and add to their cars. You can peruse the features at the link. The implementation on my 03 Passat has lousy range. The key fob for the garage door works from about 3 times as far away. I hope they have made some progress in the last 10 years.
     
  5. NigelM

    NigelM Recovering Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    13,257
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
  6. grisnjam

    grisnjam P6316

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    247
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    It will work with most garage door openers so there should be no need to use the one it came with. You just program your garage door opener to work with the car like you would a new remote ...
     
  7. dflye

    dflye S Sig Perf 414, VIN 814

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    The new google-based search results definitely has a different look than the prior search output, going to take some getting used to with all the adverts it includes. :eek:
     
  8. NigelM

    NigelM Recovering Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    13,257
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Use "Advanced Search"....no ads, except the standard banners.
     
  9. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA
    Why are there two HomeLink threads started a day apart?
     
  10. NigelM

    NigelM Recovering Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    13,257
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    New-ish members finding their way around plus the "Post New Thread" button is 3x the size of the "Search" option.....C'est la vie.
     

Share This Page