TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

House not grounded.

Discussion in 'Model S: Battery & Charging' started by Jhall118, Jun 19, 2014.

  1. Jhall118

    Jhall118 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    338
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I just recently moved into an old rental house that is not grounded(Electrician confirmed). It has a 50 amp NEMA 14-50 plug being used for a stove in the basement. Will my car accept electricity from this outlet if the house is not grounded? The reason I ask is that if I try plugging into a normal 125 volt plug on the side of the house (not even using an extension cord) , my car will not accept the charge.
     
  2. qwk

    qwk Model S P2681

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,817
    The Tesla needs a ground. You will get the red charge port ring otherwise.
     
  3. Jhall118

    Jhall118 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    338
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3 Jhall118, Jun 19, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2014
    Wow that is terrible news. I'm a biologist so I'm kind of learning this as I go. However, can't the "ground" be done at the outlet of a 14-50, and not necessarily be at the panel? Is it even possible for a 14-50 to NOT have a ground?

    I think this outlet was added after the fact when they finished the basement. Electrician is coming in a couple days anyways, so I guess he can confirm. Thanks
     
  4. NigelM

    NigelM Recovering Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    13,257
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    You need to talk to FlasherZ, he's the resident expert on all things house electrical. He'll probably drop by when he sees the thread.
     
  5. swaltner

    swaltner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    I'm assuming your electrician will just properly ground the load center (breaker panel). I checked the local hardware store and a 5/8"x8' copper ground rod was $11.38. Sink that in the ground and run the proper wiring and the issue is addressed. You need feet on the ground (local electrician) to figure this out, which the OP has confirmed is already scheduled. I would guesstimate that that (assuming there are no wiring issues in the panel other than a missing ground), this could be addressed for around $100.

    This all assumes that your outlets are wired up properly and they are grounded to the load center properly... :)
     
  6. Todd Burch

    Todd Burch Electron Pilot

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4,731
    Location:
    Smithfield, VA
    Yes, it's possible. The ground is the 4th prong on the outlet. It's possible it's not wired to anything, so it wouldn't be grounded.
     
  7. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,848
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Not sure I'd want to live in a place that didn't have a grounded electrical system. The wiring must be very old.
     
  8. PhilBa

    PhilBa Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    Seattle
    Often, NEMA 14-50s are not wired with a ground and the Tesla adapter doesn't use it. I had to specify a ground wire when I had a 220VAC circuit installed (not for an EV, in my shop). The electrician said "why do you want a ground wire? I never put one in." I explained that some shop equipment wants the ground and retrofitting would cost me a lot more so just do it.

    Are you sure the system isn't grounded? Perhaps you are referring to the fact that the outlets don't have a ground wire. If you have a breaker panel then the odds are very high that it's grounded. If you have a fuse box, well, then maybe not. Look to see if there is a metal rod or even a wire to a metal plumbing pipe. If not, as was said earlier, grounding the system is way easy to do.

    It's been standard practice since before WWII but running a ground wire has only been standard practice for the last 30-40 years. I have an old house that has wiring dating back to the 20s and it's well grounded though some of the circuits don't run ground wires.

    Depending on your relationship with the landlord, you might be able to get them to pay for the fix. They are assuming a lot of risk by having a completely ungrounded system.
     
  9. tezco

    tezco Sig P85

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    Colorado
    #9 tezco, Jun 20, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2014
    For heaven's sake, lash that ungrounded house down before it floats away....
     
  10. Jhall118

    Jhall118 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    338
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    It looks like I was wrong! Upstairs outlets don't have a ground wire, but downstairs was remodeled to add the dryer/stove and a ground wire was ran to the outlets, so I should be good to go.

    Thanks for your help everyone. Can't wait to just buy a house (I have the solar panel itch thanks to all of you), but until I know where the Wife and I will end up for a while, it's renting for now.
     
  11. tezco

    tezco Sig P85

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    Colorado
    Great! I think the S needs a ground as part of it's ground fault sensing circuit. Doesn't use the neutral lead on 240V, though.
     

Share This Page