Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

How did you buy your Tesla?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi guys,

i have seen many of you buying teslas and for some it wasn't the first tesla.

how did you manage to get extra 100k to buy this car?
i'm an ios developer and im struggling to make 100k to buy one. Any tips from other owners?

joão

- - - Updated - - -

How did you buy* not but. Sorry admin

I justified it through savings in gas which will eventually pay for the car. I might have a $1222/month car payment but that beats my previous $970/month range rover + $600-$700/month in gas. So I am saving $350-$450 a month. I don't pay for the electricity either but even if I did it's negligible. That's not including 'green' ezpass toll savings either which is another discount I get monthly. At my current high mileage rate, it may take me about 10-11 years (of which I'm already 2.5yrs into it) to hit that breaking even point where the car fully paid for itself through savings.

Yes...Had I thought CPO would have been this great of a deal ...I would have waited for CPO...oh wait CPO don't have extended warranty but for the miles I am driving every year I don't plan on buying extended warranty either.

May be CPO Model X....in the near future

Priorities. I don't need a fancy bigger house, still in the first house we ever bought (we did at least do a remodel and put in a pool). So no mortgage, no credit card debt, decent salaries and savings. We rarely eat out, mainly because we try to eat clean but the side benefit is $ savings. My main weakness when it comes to spending is cars. Ohhhh how I love cars! The good news is...I found "The One", so it was easy to part with the money for it. I intended to buy it outright, but they were moving much faster than I anticipated. Luckily, car loans were cheap, so borrowing a portion wasn't too bad.