Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

How Driving a Tesla is Like Flying an Airplane

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

aesculus

Still Trying to Figure This All Out
May 31, 2015
Northern California
I am new to Tesla's and EV's in general. I used to spend a fair amount of time flying propeller aircraft (70's and 80's), mostly in single engine planes. I have a private pilot's license (SEL) with a instrument rating but don't fly anymore. As I have been getting acquainted with my Model X I have discovered a lot of similarities to what I would do in preparing for and flying an airplane and driving a Tesla, all except the flying part of course, versus from an ICE vehicle.

These are some of my observations. If you fly or have flown what other aspects of driving a Tesla remind you of flying?
  • With the Tesla if it's short trips where fuel capacity and range does not come into the equation (ie local places I frequent weekly) I just do a simple safety check and walk around and I go to my destination. Don't worry much about pre trip planning.
  • If the trip is longer and range and familiarity are not trivial, I put a great deal of planning into it. I plot my course and include not only charging capabilities but weather en route, alternative destinations (chargers), terrain and times en route. In some cases I even need to figure out how much weight I will be carrying. Have not had the need yet to do a balance calculation. :)
  • Using the TACC is not unlike using an autopilot with the exception of the speed control piece which is a tradeoff of the elevation capability in aircraft
  • Using the navigation system is not unlike RNAV
  • Weather radar can be acquired with the browser and one of the weather websites
  • Waze sort of takes the place of the Area Control Center without the 'permission piece'
  • The SC takes the place of the FBO