Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

How much am I paying to charge my car? Is this accurate?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I am new to the whole electric charging world, and was hoping someone could answer a simple question. When I look at the usage information on my car (swipe left from the tire pressure tab) , it says I drove 1,400km and used 227kw..

Now, my electricity provider charges around $0.10/kw...so to calculate how much I paid to charge my car for the first 1400km would be 227km x 0.10 = $22.70 for 1400km...

Is this accurate? Anything I'm missing here? Thanks in advance.

Most/all of that will be at step 2, which is at a higher rate (0.14/kwh). 30% sounds too high to me (but I'm new to this as well)...maybe 10% for charging losses and pre-heat.

227kWh x 1.1 x 0.14 = $35.

BC Hydro has partial rebates for energy monitors which could help you track this more easily, or, you could get a gadget to measure the power draw from the circuit powering your charger.

I am new to the whole electric charging world, and was hoping someone could answer a simple question. When I look at the usage information on my car (swipe left from the tire pressure tab) , it says I drove 1,400km and used 227kw..

Now, my electricity provider charges around $0.10/kw...so to calculate how much I paid to charge my car for the first 1400km would be 227km x 0.10 = $22.70 for 1400km...

About your electricity bill, do you have a ToU (Time of Use) with discount rate during Off Peak hours?
If so, your electricity bill should provide consumption for Peak and Off Peak.
Also, some electricity companies might provide a month/day/hour graph consumption on your account web site.

I would also recommend adding a Wattmeter connected to your charging plug at home, so you could monitor your usage
and know exactly how many kWh you used to charge your car.