TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

How to mount FasTrak transponder non-destructively

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by SeanTek, Aug 4, 2013.

  1. SeanTek

    SeanTek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    California
    After some trial and error, I got my Metro ExpressLanes pass (which is a FasTrak transponder) to work when it is held flush against the plastic at the top-center of the MS windshield, above the rear-view mirror.

    What are your suggestions for how to mount the transponder non-destructively, that is, without using the velcro strips? If I use the velcro strips, the strips will look ugly when the transponder is taken off, and will likely leave a residue on the plastic.

    I bought a suction device (JL Safety EZ Pass-Port EZP300) that clips the transponder to the windshield. The device works great on the windshield, but will not stay on the plastic above the rear-view mirror because the plastic is not smooth--it has textured ridges. As a result, I guess some adhesive will have to do, but I would prefer a removable and residue-free solution.
     
  2. markwj

    markwj Moderator, Asia Pacific

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,661
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    In general, I use 3M double sided (gray in color). Zero residue with most surfaces.
     
  3. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,675
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    Mount it on the front of the crash bar under the nose cone. It works there and is totally stealth.
     
  4. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,753
    Location:
    Texas
  5. capt601

    capt601 Vin02324

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    454
    Location:
    Mission Viejo, California, United States
    Or if you have a front license plate, get a license plate fast trak unit.
     
  6. SeanTek

    SeanTek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    California
    In my case it won't work, because the transponder looks like this:
    transponders.png

    It has a switch to change the number of passengers, so putting it on the nose cone or getting a front license plate-mounted transponder will lose that functionality.

    I'll try those other options and report back! Which 3M gray tape, exactly? The strong-looking ones on Amazon.com look like they will not come off cleanly on demand.
     
  7. lloyds

    lloyds Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Hmm...this is the one place I have not tried. I will give this a try and hopefully it solves my transponder issue.
     
  8. aaron0k

    aaron0k Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    Walnut, CA
    If you want the switch accessible, the only place on the window it will work is in the black/screened area behind the rear view. I currently have mine mounted using the velco tape included. It's ugly though. Since I primarily use it solo, I plan to place it in the nose cone at some point.

    fastrack-ms.JPG
     
  9. lloyds

    lloyds Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Bay Area
    I tried it this morning and it didn't work for me. *sigh* back to holding it out the window
     
  10. SeanTek

    SeanTek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    California
    Where, exactly, did you try? Maybe post a picture. Like Steve Jobs said, maybe you're "holding it wrong". :tongue:
     
  11. jongt3

    jongt3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Tustin, CA
    I put mine in the glove compartment and was surprised that it works just fine there. Definitely works better than mounting on the windshield with the added bonus of being out of sight.

    I do not have the transponder with the number of passengers switch.
     
  12. rallykeeper

    rallykeeper Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Southern California
    It's funny. I've been tossing my FasTrak transponder into the front drivers side corner of my windshield. No tape, just face it backside out (i.e., switches facing down).

    I'm not a regular MetroExpress Lane user, but have used it from time to time on the 110 freeway in Los Angeles. In the dozen or so times I've used it over the last six months in my Model S, I've always been charged correctly by MTA.

    I'm not sure what to make of that except to say that perhaps my car is being visually checked by photographic evidence if the transponder isn't working.

    If you are an infrequent user, that may be the way to go.
     
  13. Owner

    Owner Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,228
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Yikes I tried everyplace and could not for the life of me get any fastrak to work at all. I tried dash, windshield, holding it outside, frunk. I tried 3 transponders. I gave up and am letting them take a license plate picture. More on my blog.
    Fastrak Connection | Tesla Owner
     
  14. SeanTek

    SeanTek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    California
    Do you hear it beep when you pass under the detection devices?
     
  15. BillShepp

    BillShepp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Los Altos, California, United States
    The high-speed transponder checks also grab a photograph of your license plate and use that if they can't read the transponder.
     
  16. gaswalla

    gaswalla P4201/85/airsusp/pano/19i

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,192
    Location:
    San Diego
    I used this stuff (from staples $2..Definitely cheaper elsewhere) and it works great.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. EXTURBO

    EXTURBO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
  18. ecarfan

    ecarfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    10,339
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
    That is what I use. Problem solved. Works perfectly.
     
  19. Bound466

    Bound466 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Location:
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    The best place I have found for the transponder is in the cubby. It works about half the time there.
     
  20. chang

    chang Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    Dublin, CA
    FWIW, this has been working for me: I got the external FasTrak transponder and placed it on the left lower corner of the dash, and it reads! I keep it in the cubby until I'm approaching the station, then pull it out and place it there.
     

Share This Page