TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

How To Reboot Screens

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by Skotty, Mar 14, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Skotty

    Skotty 2014 Model S P85

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,440
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I know this has been covered many times before, but it's scattered across random threads and is actually really hard to find. I spent some time searching, looking through the wiki posts, and a few other places, and actually haven't found a proper hit yet.

    So assuming I'm not just missing something that was right in front of me, here it is. An official thread just to explain how to reboot the various screens of the Model S.

    Someone with the information, please provide here. Hopefully, this will make it easy for people to find in the future when searching the forums.
     
  2. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,752
    Location:
    Texas
    To reboot the 17" display, hold down both scroll wheels (on the steering wheel--I know you know this) until the display blacks out. It's said that if you hold them down till the logo appears there is a deeper reboot. This was true at one time, I don't know if it still is.

    To reboot the instrument display press and hold the two top buttons (above the scroll wheel).
     
  3. cgiGuy

    cgiGuy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    979
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    It should be noted that reboots (at least mine) behave a little differently than they used to. The touchscreen will "black out" after holding the center scroll wheels for 5-10 seconds. The instrument panel will only reboot after holding the top steering wheel buttons for 5-10 seconds and then releasing. I've held them much longer and it just ignores me until I let go.
     
  4. GasKilla

    GasKilla No Gas Know Peace

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    412
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I was told by tech support that you should have your foot on the brake pedal the whole time until the logo reappears.

    I was also informed by tech support (while having an issue) that you can goto the e-brake and power off screen and choose "power off" and let your car stay off for at least 2 minutes then press the brake pedal to restart the car. This process is a different type of "reboot" that powers everything off which helps reset some issues.
     
  5. CHG-ON

    CHG-ON Still in love after all these miles

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2,754
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, USA
    I have been told the same thing and follow that advice. In addition, they told me to pull my USBs because the car needs to read through them during reboot, which not only slows the process, but adds complexity to the process.
     
  6. Carl

    Carl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    482
    Location:
    Belgium
    Heard the same from my SeC. The "power off" method seems to provide the 'deepest' reboot.
     
  7. Skotty

    Skotty 2014 Model S P85

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,440
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    *bump*

    Just had to reboot screens the other day after hand washing the car (did water cause an issue somewhere I wonder?). Center screen was black, message on instrument cluster said car was starting and to wait for message to disappear before pressing brake, but center never came on (things like A/C were also disabled). Also got a parking assist disabled message. I gave it far longer than it should have taken (several minutes I think, though it was almost 100 degrees outside and the A/C was disabled, so maybe it felt longer than it actually was). However, everything was all fine and dandy after rebooting both screens.

    Based on the couple of times I've done this in the past, I recommend rebooting center stack first, then instrument cluster.

    Found this thread again by searching for "reboot" with "titles only" checkbox checked.
     

Share This Page