TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

How to stop the car from heating the cabin?

Discussion in 'Model 3: User Interface' started by ratsbew, Jul 26, 2018.

1. ratsbew

ratsbew Member

I'm still new to my Model 3. Sometimes I notice that the car is heating (red user interface for the HVAC) when I really just want low AC. If I set the temp to 74 and it's already 73 then it seems to want to turn on the heater to change that 1 degree.

There should really be a software toggle for "Do not run cabin heater" especially since the heater is a huge energy hog that could kill range if you're not careful.

2. flashflooder

flashflooder Member

Totally agree with this.

3. dhanson865

dhanson865 Active Member

#3 dhanson865, Jul 26, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2018
    The 2011/2012 Nissan leaf doesn't have a heater off switch and does something similar.

My workaround is to leave the temp set to 60F year round and turn the fan up or down as needed for comfort (as well as adjusting vent positions).

Tesla needs a disable heat setting in the options so you can just turn it off in the summer months.

Nissan's solution in the 2013 or newer leaf was to have a physical button for disabling the heater (push button on/off with LED to show status). Tesla is obviously not going to add a button to the dash so a software setting is the only logical choice remaining.

• Disagree x 1
  4. goodjon24

goodjon24 Member

I haven't driven a Model 3, but is there not a manual mode like there is in other cars with Automatic Climate Control?

5. BerTX

BerTX Supporting Member