TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

HPC error cable strain

Discussion in 'Charging Standards and Infrastructure' started by greensportcars.at, Mar 16, 2014.

  1. greensportcars.at

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Austria
    hi tesla-friends,

    today i installed a HPC in my Garage. it shows error cable strain. what does this mean? there is nothing mentioned in the manual.

    some hints?

    thanks
    Manfred
     
  2. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,019
    I'm not familiar with HPC's, but the NEC code requires that the EVSE provide interlock equipment to prevent cables from being stretched too far. I suspect there's some type of a strain switch in it that is tripped or malfunctioning?
     
  3. greensportcars.at

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Austria
    thank you very much! i found the switch. i was wondering about that construction, but now it makes sense.
     
  4. greensportcars.at

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Austria
    what the hell .... ! i blocked the switch, i also fixed the cable as strong as i could, nothing helps, always the same error "cable strain"

    somebody with similar experince?

    thanks
    manfred
     
  5. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,019
    Wish I could help you... I know nothing about the Roadster HPC's. Perhaps that switch is bad?
     
  6. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,848
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Where are you seeing this "Cable Strain" message?
     
  7. greensportcars.at

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Austria
    hi doug,

    the signal LED for power and cable strain on the front panel are flashing red alternately.

    thanks
    manfred
     
  8. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,019
    Post here also makes reference to the problem:
    HPC problem

    No replies, however.
     
  9. greensportcars.at

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Austria
    now i made some Pictures of the HPC:

    first the controllerboard, in my opinion all connected correct


    HPC1.jpg

    on the second you see the inside, green+red+black for connecting power, purple for the connection Signal, no further modification

    HPC2.jpg

    on the third you see that i decomposed the cable strain switch and fixed it. there i found the small green plug, i don't know whats the function of this one, there is no free cable to plug in.

    HPC3.jpg

    and the last Shows the cable strain LED flashing

    HPC4.jpg


    PLEASE HELP ! i Need this thing to work. any hint? or is somebody able to make a picture of inside his own HPC so i can compare?

    thanks
    Manfred from the middle auf europe
     
  10. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,848
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Oh okay, that's the old style HPC, not the Clipper Creek unit like the one I have. Can't help you unfortunately. Sorry.
     

Share This Page