TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

HPWC data link question

Discussion in 'Model 3: Battery & Charging' started by alpinebum1, Jul 31, 2018.

  1. alpinebum1

    alpinebum1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    344
    Location:
    Maryland
    I just bought Belden B8760 cable for the data link between my two HPWCs. It is 18AWG, shielded, twister-pair, 2 conductor, 300V. I just noticed the Tesla manual states 600V cable is required. I can’t imagine anything in the HPWC is running higher than 300V. Does anybody know if I can safely use the cable I bought?
     
  2. ka9q

    ka9q Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    I don't actually know, but I can't imagine the link is anything but low voltage data. Question: does anybody have documentation on the format?
     
  3. animorph

    animorph Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    929
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    I believe the 600V restriction is only if it's in the same conduit as the 240V wires.
     
    • Like x 1
  4. SSonnentag

    SSonnentag Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Messages:
    517
    Location:
    Peeples Valley, Arizona
    Animorph is correct. I used the same wire in my installation (see avatar).
     
    • Like x 1
  5. Jedi2155

    Jedi2155 Please Insert a Model 3 into Avatar

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Messages:
    486
    Location:
    Diamond Bar, CA
    I would suggest getting 600v wiring because 240v actually has a 340v peak to peak waveform so the voltage potential is greater than the insulation provided by the 300v cable.
     
  6. M_VdM

    M_VdM Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Belgium
    Have a look over here: HPWC Hacking
     
  7. SSonnentag

    SSonnentag Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Messages:
    517
    Location:
    Peeples Valley, Arizona
    I just looked through the installation manual again. The voltage rating for the comms wire isn't even mentioned. They're only worried about it being RF shielded. Your power wires already have 600V insulation on them, so the comm wires only need to be minimally protected anyway. Your cable choice is fine.
     
  8. alpinebum1

    alpinebum1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    344
    Location:
    Maryland
    Thanks for the info. I'm sticking with the cable already purchased. It's getting run through it's own conduit and has a very sturdy jacket on it. Stuff wasn't cheap either.
     
    • Like x 1

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC