Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

HPWC no light after one week

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Prefacing by saying I am not an electrician, so apologies in advance...

Our HPWC was installed one week ago by a family member and passed inspection by the city's chief electrical inspector. We have 200 amp service and I believe the HPWC was installed with #3 AWG wire and (I think) is on a 72 amp breaker. The internal switch inside the HPWC is set for 48 amp charging rate.

I've charged without any issues a few times this past week.

Last night I happened to wake up in the middle of the night and noticed on my Tesla app that the scheduled charge hadn't happened and there was a message saying something to the effect of "Check charger power". After unplugging the car, I looked at the HPWC - no light at all, no green or red. I then checked the breaker - it was actually still on. I turned the breaker off, then back on. Still no light on the HPWC. Tried the reset button - nothing.

Family member who installed it came to check and went through the same process as I did with flipping the breaker. He then used a little tool to see if there was power going to the HPWC and said that there is. So, it seems like the issue may be inside the HPWC.

Just thought I'd inquire whether anyone has experienced something like this? I had to rush to work, but will of course go through the trouble-shooting section of the manual this evening and contact Tesla, etc.

The only wiring things I could think of would be that the two hot wires are 240v leg to leg, and that you see 120v from each to ground. Make sure all connections in all points of the path starting at the panel (especially the ground if you did not already test that) are tight.