TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

HVAC from remote app not at full power?

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by kjl, Aug 18, 2014.

  1. kjl

    kjl Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Hey, can anybody confirm that if you turn the AC on from the phone app that it doesn't go at the normal full power? My car's interior was 106 and I turned the AC on to 75 (and cracked the roof) as I have some heat sensitive stuff in there. It's cooling down in there, but really slowly it seems like. It went from 106 to 95 after maybe 20 minutes. I feel like if I'd been in the car it would have gone down the the target temperature after just a few minutes...
     
  2. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #2 dsm363, Aug 18, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2014
    You had the roof cracked the entire time? I think it would cool faster after venting for a minute or two then closing it and continuing to cool.
     
  3. scaesare

    scaesare Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    3,928
    Location:
    NoVA
    It used to definitely go at full-bore... a recent update changed that so the car reportedly switches from max back to your "last setting" when you open the door...

    It's hard to verify (like checking to see if your fridge light goes out), but when I walk up to the car when hot it SEEMS like the exterior A/C condenser fans are running at max, and then slow down when I get in...
     
  4. TurboFroggy

    TurboFroggy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    Everett, WA
    Check to make sure your not in Range mode (ECO in the heater control center indicator). That will lower the output of the HVAC system.
     
  5. kjl

    kjl Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Well, it IS in range mode, but it's in range mode all the time (AC is too loud if not in range mode imo), so my expectations are already set to a lower cooling speed.

    Roof was cracked the entire time, but it was significantly cooler outside than even my target temp.


    Hrm. Weird. I'll have to experiment some more and see if I can quantify it better than "I feel like it's cooling slower".
     
  6. Obsoletion

    Obsoletion Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA (Southern California)
    I have found it also cools MUCH faster when set to LO instead of setting it to a temperature. no idea why
     
  7. russman

    russman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    California
    Normally, I don't have my AC on, the last time I turned on climate control because where I was got hot and the internal car was hot, so I turned on climate control, but it did not turn on the AC. I swear it used to turn on the AC.
     

Share This Page