TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Hydrogen Storage

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by graham, Dec 22, 2008.

1. graham

graham Active Member

When I was an undergrad in the late '80s in Materials Science, there was a professor who had developed a yttrium based alloy he called a "hydrogen sponge" -- it would soak up hydrogen and leave it inert in this alloy until a small electric current passed through it. This would release the hydrogen, which he was hoping would go into a small ceramic-block combustion engine - since hydrogen combustion is around 95% efficient. As a bonus, the process of releasing hydrogen was endothermic, so the hydrogen sponge was also the air conditioner.

I wonder whatever happened to that technology? It had drawbacks in the alloy was heavy -- and the some of the same hydrogen generation issues that the current fuel cell cars have. But storage and transport worked better than what we have today, and hydrogen ICE should be less costly and more efficient than a fuel cell.

2. Cobos

Cobos S60 owner since 2013

As my thesis work was done in Materials Science in the early '00 I do know a little bit about this. My professor was doing a presentation at my school about current projects earlier this month, and he talked about this. They do have even better materials now for storing hydrogen, mostly as hydrides. The problem is they all require rare-earth metals like Yttrium. They are working on a material using Nickel currently but it isn't as good as the rare-earth materials.