Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

I fear we live in a silly backwards country

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi all,

I’ve driven an EV for more than 3 years now and been a Tesla/SpaceX follower for a couple of years more than that. I started with a 24kWh Leaf, which was lots of fun but pretty limited, and now have a Model 3 SR+. I drive Kona and Ioniq at work.

I was originally a big fan of ‘clean diesel’ and while previously working as a fleet manager have purchased or leased a large number of VWs and Skodas....until of course it all proved to be BS lol. I now work in the energy field and have a few projects underway with renewable energy. You probably detect a degree of interest in environmental matters and sustainability, especially as they relate to reducing opex costs and improving energy self-sufficiency and reducing emissions.

Anyway, getting to the point - I’ve advocated for sustainable energy and transport on the inter webs for many years. However, I remain bitterly disappointed with this country’s knowledge of and attitude to EVs. Things seem no more advanced than in 2015 when seeing a Model S on the road was a rare delight. There’s still the *same* drivel about broken batteries, blowing up the grid, only charging EVs from Huntly power station, and my personal favourite - not being able to tow 10 tonnes for 500/1000/2000 km without filling up.

Now the media are very much at fault with out of date data and insufficient research - witness this Stuff article (and comments section) that some of you bravely contributed to Cost and range of electric vehicles slows pace of change.