TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

ID1103 error. Lost regen, ABS and traction control

Discussion in 'Roadster: Technical' started by Alan, Jun 1, 2017.

  1. Alan

    Alan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    UK
    Driving home today (2010 2.0) I got the following error

    DMC FW: ABS Error warning

    ID1103 Data 0x00000400

    Now have no ABS, traction control or regen. I have turned the car off / on a few times and opened / closed the charge port 7 times (can not remember if that clears some codes on the Roadster or Model s :)

    Any ideas what to check. If its an ABS / wheel speed sensor likely to have gone down its fairly easy for me to check with an oscilloscope (my company makes oscilloscopes).

    Thanks in advance
    Alan
     
  2. PV-EV

    PV-EV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Location:
    Alaska
    I have gotten this error in the past. In my case it seems to be a false error as I definitely still have Regen and I believe I still have ABS. I have been able to reproduce it by turning on my headlights, but not always. I know this sounds bizarre but it is true. I have heard of others having this same issue. You haven't by chance installed aftermarket headlamp ballasts, have you? I am fairly certain this is the case with mine and at least one other owner.
     
  3. Pando

    Pando Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    Sandy Ego
    If it were the ID10T error it would have been a lot worse
     
    • Funny x 3
  4. hcsharp

    hcsharp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,021
    Location:
    Vermont
    That's interesting because it's easy to mount the ballast right next to the ABS unit. I've never had this problem and I wonder if it's because of where I mounted my headlight ballast.
     
  5. PV-EV

    PV-EV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Location:
    Alaska
    And where did you mount yours? Mine are under the front hood tucked under the front most plastic guard, adjacent to the headlights. After replacing one ballast the problem has mostly disappeared.
     
  6. Alan

    Alan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    UK
    I did have aftermarket headlamps several years ago but currently have the OEM HID ones. Weekend got a bit busy so did not have a chance to look into this further. Must sort it though, without regen the range really drops.
     
  7. wiztecy

    wiztecy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, United States
    Agree. My aftermarket HID ballast is mounted in that exact location (on the driver's side ABS unit) and I never had an issue with errors. Doesn't mean it can't happen from EMF contamination, but I've never heard anyone exhibiting that issue.
     
  8. hcsharp

    hcsharp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,021
    Location:
    Vermont
    Mine are mounted on the carbon fiber tub near the headlights but significantly forward of the ABS unit. I'd have to take the wheel well out to see just how far away it is.
     
  9. ion_1

    ion_1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    NJ
    Pictures below, Morimoto ballasts, no issues yet (besides FM interference)

    IMG_20161227_115451.jpg IMG_20161226_144329.jpg
     
  10. slcasner

    slcasner Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    742
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    I would guess that voltage drop due to HID current draw would be a more likely culprit than EMI from the mounting location. In my Audi I had a problem of ABS faults showing up when I started the car. Dealer could not figure it out with the diagnostic tool. Replacing the starter battery that had come to the end of its life solved the problem.
     
    • Informative x 1
  11. PV-EV

    PV-EV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Location:
    Alaska
    I think in my case it was because of a faulty ballast causing a voltage transient that some part of the system didn't like. Not necessarily due to location of the ballast. I was given this clue by Panicopticon who had a similar problem that would occur when using the FOB to unlock the car. He determined it was the flashing headlights causing the error. That car was a 2.0. Mine a 2.5. Both of us had aftermarket ballasts but different brands. This might not be the problem the OP has but is worth noting. The VDS error is the same. Hours were spent troubleshooting the ABS system by Tesla and another tech.
     
    • Informative x 1
  12. shrink

    shrink Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    739
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    C554C75D-E67C-4F7F-BAAB-3A42598A3178.jpeg 7969C7CA-52BB-4B60-A9E3-FAC388CC2239.jpeg
    I just got this same error today. Did you ever figure out your issue?
     
  13. Jonathanm

    Jonathanm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Monaco
    In the error messages I have seen it says to check and diagnose ABS Controller....
     
  14. PV-EV

    PV-EV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Location:
    Alaska
    Starting the car with the headlights on can cause this error message for me. Even though the no Regen light is illuminated I still have Regen. How old is your aux battery? If the error occurred on start up, try restarting after letting it sit a few minutes until it goes to sleep. Be sure to have lights and heater off. Tesla techs spent HOURS trying to find the ABS problem, to no avail.
     
  15. shrink

    shrink Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    739
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Aux battery is over 3 years old. I asked them to replace at my last annual service in 8/2017, but they said it was still okay. That was shocking to me.

    The message came on abruptly while driving on the highway and I most definitely lost Regen. It was odd and I felt a little uncomfortable because the driving feel is so different.

    In the previous months I noticed the Traction Control light coming on intermittently, but frequently - even over the slightest bumps in the road. I haven't been driving the Roadster much so I wanted to drive it a little more regularly for more observation before taking it in. With this error message, I'm sure I'll be seeing service very soon.
     
  16. PV-EV

    PV-EV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Location:
    Alaska
    Could well be a different problem. Still I would swap out that aux battery. They are not expensive and when they fail it’s a pain. 3years is pretty old.
     
  17. MLAUTO

    MLAUTO Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    530
    Location:
    SW Florida
    With the traction light coming on it sounds like a wheel speed sensor problem. I would test the resistance of the sensors and make sure the tone rings are clean.
     
  18. shrink

    shrink Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    739
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Thanks for the feedback! Will pass it along to the techs.
     
  19. Alan

    Alan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    UK
    Oddly I have now had this error twice. Both times it has been due to wheel speed sensor faults. The first was a extension wire on one of the front sensors coming in contact with the wheel cutting into it (its a vauxhall astra part). The second was a sensor going down which needed a new rear hub / sensor assembly. I think the hubs are the same as the VX220 but bought Tesla to be safe due to the extra torque / weight of the Roadster.

    As one of the posts above mentions test each sensor in turn if you have a meter or better an oscilloscope.
     
    • Informative x 1
  20. shrink

    shrink Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    739
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Hats off to MLAUTO and Alan! From the SC today:

    "We found that the driver wheel speed sensor needs to be replaced. We have placed the order for it and currently do not have an ETA. But will contact you when it arrives. Cost is $355.00."

    Now, I wonder how long it'll take to get that part?

    Thanks so much to this community for the insights and information! We gotta keep these "classic" cars in running best we we can.
     
    • Informative x 1

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC