TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

IE 10

Discussion in 'Site Feedback' started by DrComputer, Dec 11, 2012.

  1. DrComputer

    DrComputer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    893
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    I'm not sure how many other people are using Windows 8 with IE 10 and this site, but as an IT guy I always have to use the latest toys. I have noticed that in IE 10 native mode when trying to post or edit a message you cannot insert a return. If you put IE 10 in compatibility mode then you can insert a return when in the editor but you lose all of the cool Windows 8 features like spell checking as you type. Doug, is there an update for the forum software that makes it play nice with IE 10 yet?
     
  2. ElSupreme

    ElSupreme Model S 03182

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4,279
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I also have been using IE10, for a while now. And I browse this site on there. I have the exact same problem (in Metro (or whatever it is called now) mode as well as windowed mode). I just copy a carriage return and paste it when I post with IE10. It is a big hassle though.
     
  3. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,914
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    hmmm... I'll look into it, but I wouldn't hold your breath. They've been so preoccupied trying to finish the next version of the software that they've long delayed even minor bug fixes in the current version.
     
  4. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,914
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    Ok, so the suggestion I got was to use the non-WYSIWYG editor. You can toggle between editor modes by clicking the top left button in the editor toolbar.
     
  5. ElSupreme

    ElSupreme Model S 03182

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4,279
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Cool I'll test it when I get home from work. I have to rock XP at work, so IE8 for me. And by IE8 I mean Chrome, Opera, Firefox or anything that keep me from using IE8.

    It was good for its time, but no more.
     
  6. ElSupreme

    ElSupreme Model S 03182

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4,279
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I cant change lines with the WYSIWYG editor.

    But
    the
    regular
    editor
    I
    can.
     
  7. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,914
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    So it worked?
     
  8. ElSupreme

    ElSupreme Model S 03182

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4,279
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Yes. It worked just fine.

    I might change my preferences to do the non-WYSISYG as default. It doesn't seem that much different.

    Makes typing much easier, and I don't have to worry about copying a carriage return.

    Typing in IE 10 now.
     
  9. DrComputer

    DrComputer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    893
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    Cool. I will do that too.
     
  10. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,914
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    Just finished an update that supposedly "fixed" this. Please try the WYSIWYG editor in IE10 and report back.
     
  11. deonb

    deonb Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3,020
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    It...
    works!!

    Woo-hoo!!
     
  12. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,914
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    Thanks. Good to know it works... for all seven of you. ;)
     
  13. ElSupreme

    ElSupreme Model S 03182

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    4,279
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I
    T

    R
    E
    A
    L
    L
    Y

    W
    O
    R
    K
    S
    !

    Now that I am home and can test it. Thanks doug!
     
  14. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,914
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    Really, it's a bit of a cheat. Just an extra line of code to puts the browser in IE9 mode for the edit window. But should be seamless for the user.
     
  15. gmontem

    gmontem Model S P01707

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Castro Valley, CA
    Thanks for the fix!

    :smile:
     

Share This Page