TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Improving HomeLink

Discussion in 'Model S: Interior & Exterior' started by SamGarber, Apr 15, 2014.

Tags:
  1. SamGarber

    SamGarber S85 "Whale Shark"

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Has anyone had any success in improving the reach/range of HomeLink on the Model S? It seems to be very weird in how it operates my garage door opener. It only works within 5 feet of the garage when the front of the car faces the opener when the door needs to be closed, but when I approach my driveway it actually works further away and while I am still in the street to open. My ICE homelink seems to work just fine in any direction from pretty far away as do my remotes.

    Is there anything that can be done to optimize the HomeLink antenna?

    I know it is a silly gripe but it annoys me to turn have to drive out and come back on the driveway nose-in (I back into my garage) to close door (or use remote).
     
  2. huzz1970

    huzz1970 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Arizona
    Our Homelink appears to work well. The icon comes up on the display at about 150 feet from the garage, then press and about 2 seconds later as i am in the driveway the door starts up. have not figured out the delay, but it is consistent regardless of where the car is in relation to the door. I can close the door heading down the street away from the garage. sounds like you might have the antenna touching some metal portion in the dash?? this would cause a mismatch of the antenna and reduce the signal strength. I would check with your local service center- maybe they can check the antenna? I am not sure where it is located (will have to do some digging on the topic).
     
  3. pete8314

    pete8314 Vendor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,947
    Location:
    DFW
    The homelink antenna is (I think) it the front of the car behind one of the rads, shown below (the hoopy thing).

    2014-04-25_14-44-56.jpg

    My range is normally quite good, at least the same, or better, than our other car (Audi).
     
  4. gpetti

    gpetti Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    I feel as if mine was working better before 5.9 but the bottom line is mine works like the OP's description , i.e. seems better when facing frontwards. To be honest, either way the range seems limited and I'm finding I need to press the button multiple times (each time waiting about 2 seconds to see if it worked). I had a service appointment on Monday but I didn't mention it as I thought I'd heard various people complain about home link and I figured maybe this was the norm. I might ask on the 5.9 thread if anyone else has noticed it being worse.
     
  5. ZBB

    ZBB Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,419
    Location:
    Scottsdale
    Mine works fine -- and from slightly further away than other cars that have had homelink.

    One thing you might want to do is make sure the antenna on the garage door opener itself isn't excessively shielded. On ours, its a wire that we were able to reposition a bit so instead of being tucked in by the light bulb, that it hangs out of the motor box. A few cars back, that really helped the range go from ~10 feet to 50 feet out...
     
  6. JakeP

    JakeP S P4996 / X P6028

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,816
    Location:
    Wexford, PA
    I ran a length of antenna wire outside of my garage door, and tucked it into the frame...works perfect now. Would never work properly before then, I think due to the angles with a downhill 90-degree driveway entrance.
     
  7. SamGarber

    SamGarber S85 "Whale Shark"

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    I think I will try that. Did you just splice it with the original?
     
  8. JakeP

    JakeP S P4996 / X P6028

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,816
    Location:
    Wexford, PA
    Ultimately, yes. I actually installed a second receiver on that opener, but that didn't help. Splicing the extra wire on and running it outside was the solution.
     

Share This Page