TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Incorrect message "Charging needed to reach destination"

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by wayner, May 25, 2015.

  1. wayner

    wayner Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,600
    Location:
    Toronto
    On Saturday I was 3.7km from home (which was my destination) and I had 93km of rated range. I got the "Charging needed to reach destination" message all of a sudden which makes no sense. Has anyone else seen this?

    charging needed.jpg
     
  2. Ugliest1

    Ugliest1 S85: "Sparky"

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    889
    Location:
    Victoria BC Canada
    Turn off supercharger routing (I think maybe touch the red popup?). Or maybe it's "Trip Planning". I had that once planning a drive to Campbell River in the car, it turned out the Nav wanted me to take a ferry over to Burlington WA supercharger, head up to the Squamish supercharger, and I can't remember how it thought I was going to get back on the Island to get to Campbell River.

    There's a slightly subtle button or two on the routing screen that will remove the weirdness and go back to the direct route. I haven't used it enough for the most efficient planning procedures to become second nature. And when I finally learn them, of course, they'll change the screens. :eek:
     
  3. wayner

    wayner Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,600
    Location:
    Toronto
    But the weird thing is that I only live 12km from the Supercharger at the Lawrence Ave Service Centre and at the time of the message I was even closer to that location. I could have driven there and back multiple times even with my lowish charge level.
     
  4. HankLloydRight

    HankLloydRight Fluxing

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5,787
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Let me guess... you stopped the car and got out... when you got back in, this was the result?

    This is a bug in the Nav that it tries to re-run the nav route when you get back in, but it's all messed up. Just hit "cancel" and re-route your destination.

    The first time this happened to me, I was 1 mile from a planned SC stop, and stopped to get a soda before hitting the SC station. Got back in, and this was the result "not enough charge...".. yeah, 1 mile to go? I don't think so. :)
     
  5. wayner

    wayner Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,600
    Location:
    Toronto
    Thanks - that's exactly what happened.
     
  6. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,763
    Location:
    Texas
    HankLyodRight is correct. It doesn't work well once you've stopped and started the car. The other thing that happens is sometimes it adds an additional SC stop. Click on "Trips" and you can clear out the additional charging stops.
     
  7. stace

    stace Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I had this happen on a road trip a couple of weeks ago. Specifically, it was routing me towards home, but I pulled off to go to a store. On the way back, it never completed calculating the route and popped up this error (which I new to be bogus). I had it calculate a new route and it worked fine.
     
  8. brickfrenzy

    brickfrenzy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Huh. This happened to me today as well. Cancelled the routing and redid it and it cleared up.
     

Share This Page