TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Information specifically from TSLA conference call on SCTY merger

Discussion in 'TSLA Investor Discussions' started by neroden, Jun 22, 2016.

1. neroden

neroden Happy Model S Owner

OK, this is for tidbits of data straight out of the conference call. Pardon if I have transcription errors, I'm not that good at transcription.

Musk starts by basically saying that Tesla customers ask about solar panels, he wants to sell them solar panels, and it's "inefficient" for the panels to be made/installed by another company.

Musk said that the important debt measure for SolarCity was the recourse debt because the non-recourse debt, well, does not have recourse to SolarCity's balance sheet. (This is all true. We mere mortals, of course, do not *know* how much of the debt is truly non-recourse, since we haven't been able to read through all the contracts to look for putback clauses.) In this context he said Tesla would take a "closer look" at SolarCity.

Musk specifically plans to cut SolarCity's sales costs in the case of the merger:
    "...dramatic reduction in the cost of sales of solar systems sold through our stores. The biggest factor in SolarCity's increasing cost per watt in Q1 was their sales cost.... That'll go radically in the other direction with sales through Tesla."

Musk: "To date, while SolarCity has not been sufficiently differentiated on the product side, the solar panels themselves, they certainly will be in fairly near future." (Silevo Factory in Buffalo)

"...the Silevo acquisition, which we think is the best technology for high-efficiency, low-cost solar panels."

• Informative x 2
  2. neroden