TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

[Infrastructure Cost] Tesla Superchargers Station Cost?

Discussion in 'Charging Standards and Infrastructure' started by bohueilin, Dec 7, 2014.

1. bohueilin

bohueilin New Member

Hi there,
    My name is Mark, I am a MBA student at Babson College currently doing some research and analysis for course work. I was wondering if anyone knows and can point me to more information on how much it cost to build a super charging station on average? (Labors + Materials + others etc)

All I can find so far is that it cost about 250k now (2014), I would like to know more details on the cost and if the cost may be going down in the near future.
    Thank you guys and have a wonderful day/night
    Mark

2. Cosmacelf

Cosmacelf Active Member

That info is not publicly available. People,on the forums have bandied about figures like $150k for a 6 bay supercharger, but really, this is a wild assed guess.

If I were you, I would try to come up with a bill of materials and deduce the prices yourself. Here are some hints.

Tesla usually doesn't pay for the parking spots themselves. They do pay for the electricity - you can use commercial power averages, including demand charges, for that. Bear in mind where the Chargers are located since a lot of them are in California where electric rates are high.