TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Installing the HPC

Discussion in 'Roadster' started by graham, Apr 22, 2009.

  1. graham

    graham Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,572
    Location:
    Aptos, California
    Over the past 2 days, Solar City has been out at my house upgrading my PG&E service to 200amps and installing my HPC and NEMA 14-50 plug. All the while working around my wacky solar / battery installation.

    I thought some might be interested in the process of upgrading service, adding the charger/outlets and seeing it next to my inverter. Apologies if this is too many photos at once.
     
  2. graham

    graham Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,572
    Location:
    Aptos, California
    Unboxing the HPC:
    3464325995_30151f02e6_o_d.jpg

    Mounting and installing:
    3465141086_c6be4e808f_o_d.jpg

    Running new conduit:
    3465141220_54906fe871_o_d.jpg
     
  3. graham

    graham Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,572
    Location:
    Aptos, California
    Installing new meter and higher amp subpanel:
    3465141154_61873da406_o_d.jpg

    New mast:
    3465141188_bff27646dd_o_d.jpg

    HPC mounted, up close:
    3465141124_32622c7783_o_d.jpg
     
  4. graham

    graham Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,572
    Location:
    Aptos, California
    New NEMA 14-50 and Edison plugs:
    3464326161_77886a804d_o_d.jpg

    Testing the HPC.... *THUNK*... "charging"...
    3464326205_cab9d76521_o_d.jpg

    The HPC, the 4 solar panel inverters, and the 3 battery charge controllers. (along with some system monitoring gadgets)
    3465141310_fea5582cec_o_d.jpg

    Now I just need the car...
     
  5. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,251
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Why do you need the NEMA 14-50 if the Tesla HPC is hard wired in?
    Do you plan to put an electric dryer or welder out there?
     
  6. graham

    graham Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,572
    Location:
    Aptos, California
    It is a 2-car garage, and the NEMA 14-50 is on the opposite wall from the HPC. This allows me to park on either side of the garage and still charge the car if I need to for some reason. It also gives me the option of possibly having more than 1 electric car some day.
     
  7. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,251
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #7 TEG, Apr 22, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2009
    Do you know the breaker size and amps draw on the Tesla charge controller?
     
  8. graham

    graham Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,572
    Location:
    Aptos, California
    90 amps to deliver 70
     
  9. donauker

    donauker Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    755
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    The HCS current draw is whatever the max charge rate configured in the Roadster VDS setting is for that location. The HCS is primarily a contactor that passes the current through to the car, it in no way regulates the the current draw. It does tell the car how much current it has available but it is a very simple setting that could be changed thus causing the car to draw more than the breaker that the HCS is attached to, thus tripping the breaker.

    The VDS does allow you to set lower values than the max that the HCS is configured for.
     
  10. donauker

    donauker Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    755
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    The NEC specifies that a device may only draw 80% of the rated capacity of the breaker that it is connected to.

    Here is the configuration information for the original HCS.

    hcs1.jpg
     
  11. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,251
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Thanks, Don.

    Does the new Clipper Creek unit have some sort of similar adjustment for smaller breakers?
     
  12. DaveD

    DaveD EVs Kick Gas!

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    Unfortunately, it does not. It's my main gripe about the Clipper Creek unit.

    Looking at the CC circuit board closely, I believe that the capacitor labeled C16, which is located near the "Signal I/O" connector (J4), is changed to give the pilot signal different frequencies, which is how the HPC signals its current handling capacity to the Roadster (likely to be similar to the pilot signal spec'd in the J1772 standard).
     

Share This Page