TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Inverter install

Discussion in 'Model S' started by Evee, Jun 20, 2016.

  1. Evee

    Evee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Did this for fun hah. The space there was begging for it. Put a 400w inverter under the frunk lining and presto :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like x 1
    • Love x 1
  2. CHG-ON

    CHG-ON Still in love after all these miles

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2,755
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, USA
    Sweet! And very nice install too.
     
  3. TaoJones

    TaoJones Beyond Driven

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,299
    Location:
    The Americas
    Very nice.

    Before finding a 12V espresso maker, I had intentions of installing a Nespresso onboard, which would have required, believe it or not, a 4KW sine wave inverter in part because of the surge amperage. I'm glad I didn't have to do that as a) a 4KW inverter is not small, nor all that trivial to install, and b) my installation skills are not as clean as yours.

    That, and it hadn't occurred to me to use the frunk, which would have been smart - my thinking was a surface mount under the rear seats. Doh.

    The 12V is sooooo much simpler - and it's 16 bar versus the Nespresso's 19 bar. More than enough to make a decent double shot as long as I get the grind right.
     
  4. Evee

    Evee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Haha thanks. Still haven't had a situation arise where I absolutely needed it. a coffee maker could be nice ;)
     
  5. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,675
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    Here's mine in the frunk. Use it all the time to power a Dremel tool and other electric tools for work on the car and installations on other cars.

    [​IMG]
     
    • Like x 2
    • Informative x 1
  6. Evee

    Evee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Thats awesome!!!!
     
  7. Toasty

    Toasty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    anyone ever use a "Converdant inverter" ? or 1500watts or more?
     
  8. green1

    green1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,115
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    I installed a 1000w inverter. I put one outlet on the console just like @Evee did, and I agree, the car looks like it should have one there, and everyone who sees it thinks it's stock. I then also put a second outlet in the frunk similar location to @artsci but on the passenger side instead of driver, though mine is just a single outlet poking through the frunk lining, there's no big backing plate. (and as such it's a bit higher up and further back)

    Finding a place for the inverter itself was a bit of a challenge as the 1000w inverter was just a bit too big for any of the empty spaces in the front of the vehicle (on a fully loaded car with the large frunk there's not a lot of empty space up there!), but I eventually mounted it inside the passenger front fender, attached to the battery by 4AWG wiring and through a 100A fuse. I then connected the inverter's power switch to a relay, and powered it from the relay in the fuse box meant for the 12v outlet. This way the inverter is on whenever the car is. (I have however bypassed that relay for the 12v outlet, and that outlet is now live at all times instead of only when the car is "on")
     
    • Like x 1

Share This Page