Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Investing Advice & Taxes

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hello TSLA holders. I am new to investing in general and I had a few questions about your various feelings about TSLA and general stock trading tips. If you also have websites or literature on stocks in general, please let me know as I have only been doing this for a year.

My main question that I have in my head right now is how severely I will be taxed if I sell my holdings. I have searched online for just an easy chart that will tell me how much I will be taxed by the government (depending on long/short term holdings) when I eventually sell my shares. I have come up empty handed, does anyone know?

To give you a little background of my "testing the waters" stocks. I have stock in TSLA avg. about 29 dollars and I would like to go long term with it. Obviously TSLA is pretty volatile so I also think I can get profit from its highs and lows, but I stray away from that because in the end I feel TSLA will get bigger and bigger and I simply think I am not seasoned enough to play the market like that. Long term seems to be my thing, but say if I hold a stock like TSLA for long term, such as next year and sell about 10k dollars worth, how much will I be taxed?

Luckily I also bought stock from SCTY when it opened up the first day, I have been happy about that stock too, but I face the similar dilemma.

Is there any site that has an easy to read chart or perhaps literature on the new tax laws for when I do decide to take profit? Also, general sites or books for new traders would be fantastic as well.