TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Is there a way to get HomeLink to work for condo gates ?

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by joer00, Jul 13, 2013.

  1. joer00

    joer00 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    297
    Location:
    Tampa
    We just got a new gate system at our condo association and I tried to program homelink for it with no success. I assume those gate clickers are more sophisticated than a simple garage opener as also you can't set/change anything on the sender.

    My clicker also only transmits for 2-3 seconds, I assume that would be to short for the system to pick up the signal.

    Did anyone get this to work for anything else but a garage door ?
     
  2. bollar

    bollar Disgruntled Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,240
    Location:
    Southlake, TX
    You need access to a button in the gate control box that allows a new remote to be programmed. With that access, I was able to add Homelink control to our gate. This doesn't preclude the gate from being Homelink incompatible, but without access to the gate controls, you can't program it anyway.
     
  3. PhilBa

    PhilBa Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    Seattle
    Is the gate opener homelink compatible?

    I have a similar problem. Unfortunately, the gate I go through is not homelink compatible. I am currently experimenting with a homelink compatible receiver that I can use to trigger my gate clicker. This is because the window doesn't pass rf so I have to hold the clicker out the window to get it to open the gate. Once I get it working, I'll mount the clicker and receiver in the nose cone and program it next to the gate so geofencing will put up the homelink button to tap. Don't know if that's something you'd be interested in...

    I'm currently having trouble getting the supposedly homelink compatible receiver to accept programming. Not sure if I have a broken one or something else.
     
  4. walla2

    walla2 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    397
    My non-home link compatible community gate works but I ahd to program it differently.

    I did all the same steps for my gate, but instead of holding the remote button I kept pressing the button every few seconds. Took a couple of takes but the S finally grabbed the signal. Now when I push homelink gate button on the screen, I can hear about 5-6 signals getting sent to the gate. It opens well but it is unlikely I can close the gate. The gate does auto-close though so who cares. I just want in.

    This may not work on a newer system, but it may be worth a try.
     
  5. PhilBa

    PhilBa Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5 PhilBa, Jul 14, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2013
    Walla, can you tell me about your remote control. Mine actually has an RFID card that you slide into it. Made by nadap.

    I suspect mine is not even close to compatible because the association wanted to prevent people from cloning the signal.
     
  6. Puyallup Bill

    Puyallup Bill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    Puyallup WA
    My Ghetto is about 15 years old, and the gate is normally left open during the day. I was able to program the Tesla Homelink, but only after hours when the gate was closed and I parked near it. I have tried the same approach with the LEAF, but so far, nada.
     
  7. laalan

    laalan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    Orange, CA
    I also have a transmit for three second clicker. The trick in my case was to hold down for two seconds, quickly release and hold down for two seconds and repeat till programmed.
     
  8. joer00

    joer00 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    297
    Location:
    Tampa
    I tried that with no success. How can I know if the system is compatible with homelink or not ? Does it have to be a special frequency or must it be encrypted ?
     
  9. laalan

    laalan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    Orange, CA
    Easiest way is to ask your neighbors . If it works for one home link, it will work for Tesla.

    The rolling code opener versions require pressing a button on operator to pair with car/remotes and are rarer.
     
  10. Jello

    Jello Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    If you can get into the gate control board by the motor, you can install your own simple receiver in parallel with the existing one, so you can open the gate along with the existing complex coding ones. This one will work.
     
  11. walla2

    walla2 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    397
    Sadly, I don't think an RFID will ever work with homelink systems. You would have to talk to the HOA about adding a remote device option (RF not RFID) like those suggested by jello above.
     
  12. PhilBa

    PhilBa Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    Seattle
    Oh yes, I know that. And, to get anything changed takes an act of god so I'm on my own here.
     
  13. Brandonm

    Brandonm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Had no problem programming Homelink to work with the gate at our place - didn't even request to have any buttons on the control box pressed.
     
  14. acuradriver

    acuradriver New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    If you still havent figured it out yet how to program it, All you have to do is hold the homelink button you want to be programmed and the clicker at the the same. When the clicker light goes off, just press it and hold the button again. Do this repeatedly until your homelink light flash rapidly and then let go of the buttons.

    I think i pressed and held my clicker 3 or 4 times until i got a rapid flash on my homelink. I did this on 2 cars easy so i hope it makes it really easy for you guys.

    Time to let go of those ugly clickers... just save one good clicker for reprogramming or other cars.
     
  15. Gizmotoy

    Gizmotoy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3,132
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Same here. I looked up my gate's model number and it wasn't technically supported, but I popped a new battery in the clicker, and just pressed it a bunch of times in a row while the S was learning. Worked just fine. No control box fiddling required.

    That said, prior to replacing the battery, it didn't work at all no matter what I did. It seems like the receiver is not terribly sensitive.
     
  16. Apoclyps

    Apoclyps Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    Taipei, Taiwan
    hadn't thought about linking to the condo gate entrance. thanks to this thread, my car now opens the gate and my garage! woohoo! just be sure to program your car near the gate so that the Homelink pops up when in close proximity (and not just at your home).
     

Share This Page