Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

ITM call options?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Pretty sure this but couldn't find a thread on it, sorry if this is a rehash on another thread. What are the strategies for deep ITM calls for someone who wants to accumulate shares? I'm sort of newish to options but I've been accumulating shares since 2015 and continue to have a bullish 5-10 year outlook. I have 3 June 17 $640 contracts in my regular brokerage account that I've been trying to figure out how best to turn them into shares.

1. Sell TSLA shares to fund all 3 contacts? I guess there's higher tax hit. implications
2. Sell some options to partially fund maybe 1 contract?
3. Use margins to fund it?
4. Sell the options and use the profits to buy the stock

I"m sure there's no one answer and is highly dependent the individual. Thanks in advance!

• Informative
Reactions: UltradoomY
Pretty sure this but couldn't find a thread on it, sorry if this is a rehash on another thread. What are the strategies for deep ITM calls for someone who wants to accumulate shares? I'm sort of newish to options but I've been accumulating shares since 2015 and continue to have a bullish 5-10 year outlook. I have 3 June 17 $640 contracts in my regular brokerage account that I've been trying to figure out how best to turn them into shares.

1. Sell TSLA shares to fund all 3 contacts? I guess there's higher tax hit. implications
2. Sell some options to partially fund maybe 1 contract?
3. Use margins to fund it?
4. Sell the options and use the profits to buy the stock

I"m sure there's no one answer and is highly dependent the individual. Thanks in advance!