Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Just got CPO 2016 P90DL , 111 mile range acceptable?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi all ,

very new to the forum and Tesla. I tried to search for real world mileage and came up with ranges per charge, etc. I apologize in advance if the has been discussed. just got a 2016 p90dl. charged to 90%. stated that I had 222 miles. drove 79 miles, and had 63 remaining. Meaning that I burned off 159 miles off the Tesla range, only driving 79. about half .

meaning that the 63 miles I had remaining would really mean 32 miles. or 111 miles per 90% charge. its 18 degrees in st Louis, I kept the heat to 74 , 1 heated seat on full blast, and I drive in ludicrous mode, and jack rabbit starts, 75 -80 on the highway, etc, etc. In other worlds , not really caring about range.

I know that I'm a fast driver , but is 50% range and 111 miles to a charge something that I should have Tesla look at?

My nav locks up and displays me driving next to the road instead of on it, a lot , so yeah not the best luck so far. but hey , I still love this car.

...I apologize in advance if the has been discussed...

Yes. So many new owners caught off guard with real-life energy consumption.

As @ucmndd already covered. Most likely, there's nothing wrong with your car. You just need to adjust your driving style if you want the advertised range.

1) Most of the time, it's the bigger rim: The bigger the more energy hog. Is your rim size standard at 19" just like the same size that EPA uses?

2) Speed: Slow down if you want EPA number. EPA uses 42MPH as "highway speed" to comply with the good old standard of 1985.

3) Wind: It's an additional "speed" energy loss penalty.

4) Heater: It uses lots of energy! It's like 12 kW which is the equivalent of driving 50 MPH in speed but it's the energy hog in addition to your speed.