Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Key Fob Nightmare

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Wow

Im a newbie

Just dont know how this can happen

So my son wants to drive the Tesla Rental car I have while mine is getting updated

He drives up to the mall, and goes to get out and has a key fob is not in the car

Its not anywhere, not in car, no where

I look around the house, outside where car was parked nothing

Call Tesla service

I ask can the car drive with out the key fob. No

so we look more..nothing..then Tesla says that if the key fob was near car when put in drive and then drive away it could drive without in car

so it then should have been somer where outside near car, maybe fell out of pocket

anyway, as im looking for fob weird guy comes out of neighbors yard and walks down street

have not seen him or car before, gets in car drives away

after I pick up son, Tesla locked car, and drive back, there is creepy dude again, this time i get license plate number and ask what he wants...

some bogus story and he drives away. I called the police and reported him. Waiting for them now to show up

I think the key fob fell out of pocket and in street, son drove away, creepy guy came buy and picked it up. and came back looking for car..

Just how can the car drive with out the fob

I need a drink

I've found some thing block the key fob from working. RFID door fobs, for instance.
Moving the key fob just a little will help it.

But if I'm understanding correctly, you are describing the car working but you don't know where the fob is.

If worried about the fob being in somebody else's hands, I suggest locking the car in other way -- put in locked garage or use a steering wheel lock until you get the fob situation sorted. Steering wheel lock should be available at many stores.

Wow

Im a newbie