TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

kWh meter

Discussion in 'Tesla Parts for Sale' started by TEG, Jan 31, 2011.

  1. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,249
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
  2. dpeilow

    dpeilow Moderator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8,572
    Location:
    Winchester, UK
  3. Eberhard

    Eberhard #421 Model S #S32

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    Germany
    TEG: 3-phase? Where do you live
     
  4. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,249
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    I posted something I saw on eBay. I just noticed it because it mentioned Tesla in the subject.
    I don't have 3-phase at my house.
     
  5. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA
  6. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,913
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    You can get to the lines from inside your EVSE box.
     
  7. dpeilow

    dpeilow Moderator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8,572
    Location:
    Winchester, UK
    They look like hall effect clamps. No cutting required.
     
  8. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,913
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    I gave vfx the benefit of the doubt and thought he meant cutting of the cables to get to the individual lines, not cutting the lines themselves to attach the probes.. Either way, no cutting required.
     
  9. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA
    Assuming you could get inside (someone else's box) to isolate a single cable. This[​IMG]

    Looks pretty solid to me.
     
  10. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,249
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Not all the same features though. The one in the original post says (among other things):
    [​IMG]
     
  11. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,249
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Sure doesn't look like a clamp. Seems like you need to get an open end on the wire one way or another to put it through.
     
  12. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,913
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    Poor design then. You can get probes that snap around the wires.
     
  13. dpeilow

    dpeilow Moderator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8,572
    Location:
    Winchester, UK
    My cheap meter has a pulse output that can be used for remote monitoring. Not as snazzy as a network connection but can be plumbed into such.
     
  14. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,249
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    From what I can tell, the EKM meter was primarily designed for apartment owners that pay a bulk fee for power, and want to bill individual occupants for their actual use.
    Thus the need to have multiple units and software to track them separately in a spreadsheet.
    I guess it occurred to them that they might be able to sell a few more units if they started advertising them to people wanting to track EV charging too.
     
  15. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA

Share This Page