Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Late Night AutoPilot: The Dangers of Dozing

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I'm a non-owner with a very specific question about Autopilot.

I'm an attentive driver. Even late at night, even if I've had a glass of wine at dinner, I never nod off. But then again, I've always had to actually drive.

What do you do to stave off dozing? Cycles of turning autopilot on and off? Set a smartphone alarm to chirp loudly every 3 minutes? What?

I'm not asking for general staying-awake tips. Just wondering how much of an issue this is with Autopilot (particularly late), and how owners deal with it.

If you normally don't have a problem falling asleep and then with autopilot enabled you are having that problem then no doubt simply don't use it.

On the other hand, if I was in a situation where against my better judgement I was driving while having trouble staying awake, I'd much rather fall asleep with AP enabled than anything else. I'd say you have a 99% chance of avoiding an accident even if you are fast asleep which is much better than without AP. The biggest concern would be after the car stops in the middle of the road; somebody could rear-end you.

Reactions: Eric S
Obviously sleep tendency varies from person to person, but I've found that I've had far more drowsy situations when I have to control steering and distance regulation compared to supervising Autopilot, which is very similar to my general behavior on road trips. When driving legs of road trips sleep-deprived, I find myself getting drowsy behind the wheel, and having to switch drivers. But as soon as I get in the passenger seat, I'm far more awake and alert and it's almost frustrating.