Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Lending shares for shorting, out of Market Action

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I am completely new to this stock market stuff so I am completely ignorant regarding sell limits, puts, calls, etc. I bought my shares through Robinhood and have done nothing but sit on them. Hearing you guys talking about your shares being available to short has me concerned. I have no desire to see my shares shorted. Can Robinhood do that? If so, how do I stop it? Educate me please.

Dan

Reactions: aubreymcfato
I am completely new to this stock market stuff so I am completely ignorant regarding sell limits, puts, calls, etc. I bought my shares through Robinhood and have done nothing but sit on them. Hearing you guys talking about your shares being available to short has me concerned. I have no desire to see my shares shorted. Can Robinhood do that? If so, how do I stop it? Educate me please.

Dan

I'm a noob too when compared with the guys on this board. A sell-limit order is basically an instruction to your broker to sell X shares for X price, if that price get hit. These can be set as GTC - "Good 'Till Cancelled", so they'll just sit there until the conditions are met and they sell, or you cancel the order.

Stop-loss orders work the same way, but with a price limit lower then the current SP.

Sign-up to Investopedia, lots of info there...

I'm a noob too when compared with the guys on this board. A sell-limit order is basically an instruction to your broker to sell X shares for X price, if that price get hit. These can be set as GTC - "Good 'Till Cancelled", so they'll just sit there until the conditions are met and they sell, or you cancel the order.

Stop-loss orders work the same way, but with a price limit lower then the current SP.

Sign-up to Investopedia, lots of info there...