TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Let's Play "Find the Code Violations"

Discussion in 'North America' started by gavine, Jul 28, 2016.

  1. gavine

    gavine Petrol Head turned EV Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,010
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey
    I'm not an electrician, but this video of a 240V outlet install seems to have several code violations:



    The one that jumps out at me is the fact the he didn't use an outlet box and installed it straight-into the drywall. That can't be legal, can it?

    I'm going to bet that there are 3 or 4 violations at least. The video doesn't allow comments. Otherwise, I'm sure the viewers would be listing the problems right there.

    Let's list them here.
     
  2. MitchMitch

    MitchMitch Lurker In Chief

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Colorado
    YIKES !!
    You're right, that outlet will likely pull out of the wall in short order.
    Good thing he put that bushing where the cable enters the cabinet.

    Tomorrow's video: $10.00> DIY appendectomy at home using this box cutter and super glue? ;):eek:
     
    • Funny x 3
  3. Chris TX

    Chris TX Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1,486
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Using white wire for that second leg of hot isn't code. He at least needs to wrap the ends with a bit of red tape to signify they aren't a neutral.
     
  4. gavine

    gavine Petrol Head turned EV Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,010
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey
    And he's using the bare copper as the neutral. The neutral carries some current, right?
     
  5. jelloslug

    jelloslug Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    I love the fact that comments are disabled for that video....
     
    • Funny x 2
  6. Chris TX

    Chris TX Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1,486
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    L6-30 is two hots and a ground. Bare copper is fine for ground. It really need an old construction junction box, though.
     
  7. gaswalla

    gaswalla P4201/85/airsusp/pano/19i

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,205
    Location:
    San Diego
    problem is that too many electricians hear about the Tesla that someone just bought, and the prices quadruple. Then, you end up with folks like this doing it themselves.
     
  8. Chris TX

    Chris TX Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1,486
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    There is no neutral that would go to a L6-30 outlet. He's properly using the bare wire as ground.
     
  9. fwgmills

    fwgmills Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Roanoke, TX
    I'm no electrician, but even I can tell that this guy is a walking insurance claim.
     
  10. Chris TX

    Chris TX Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1,486
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Yeah, drilling and sawing with metal tools that close to a breaker box is like playing Russian Roulette.
     
    • Like x 1
  11. linkster

    linkster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USAX2
    #11 linkster, Aug 2, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2016
    1. no old construction single gang workbox (WTF!)
    2. no Romex connector deployed where the 10-2 passes thru the load center panel box
    3. no attachment (wire staples) of Romex to a stud within a certain distance of exiting the load center and the same goes for exiting the workbox (oh, that's right, it's a new fangled drywall/free floating L6-30 receptacle, SCHEESH!!)
    4. white conductor not properly marked with black marker/tape in BOTH workbox and load center.

    btw, love using metal screwdrivers
    love pushing the drywall saw nice and deep thru the drywall while cuttingo_O
    love the two tools in one hand approach while unscrewing panel door

    everything else appears to be OK to me, but I am no electromagician :)

    grounding, receptacle, conductor, 2-pole 30a breaker all match/good
     
    • Like x 3
    • Funny x 1
  12. idoco

    idoco Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    Outside Philly
    No need for staples behind existing drywall (assuming proper strain relief at load panel and junction boxes.

    NEC 334.30(B)(1)
    (B) Unsupported Cables. Nonmetallic-sheathed cable shall be permitted to be unsupported where the cable:

    (1) Is fished between access points through concealed spaces in finished buildings or structures and supporting is impracticable.
     
  13. HankLloydRight

    HankLloydRight Fluxing

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5,793
    Location:
    Connecticut
    No outlet box is like Home Electric 101! Yikes! How can he *not* know that?
     
    • Like x 1
  14. gavine

    gavine Petrol Head turned EV Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,010
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey
    The list is growing. How about not stripping the romex inside the box? Aren't you supposed to pull the jacket off in there?
     
  15. Craig-Tx

    Craig-Tx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    What has already been mentioned above and:

    #1 I'm going to add that the "Red Devil" he used for a grommet where the romex entered the panel is not at all correct. Glad he recognized that something needed to be there... But what he used offers very little protection and likely won't even stay in place.

    #2 Label your new breaker in the breaker panel!!!
     
  16. linkster

    linkster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USAX2
    Is that a BX termination wire protection sleeve or sumthin' else? Thnx in advance.
     
  17. Craig-Tx

    Craig-Tx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Also, at about 10:35 "...we are left with the copper ... which will run into the back line where the other grounds and neutrals are."

    Which is it? Ground or Neutral? The Ground Bus and Neutral Bus are different bus bars. I do realize that as the primary panel for the house, that the two bus bars are connected in that panel, but you really should keep the grounds and neutrals on separate sides.
    He did get it right. He connected it to the ground side, but I can only imagine that if the breaker would have fit easier on the other side, he would have likely connected the ground to the neutral bus.

    If you don't know what you are doing... hire an electrician. Or at the very least, don't publish a how to for others to incorrectly follow.
     
  18. Craig-Tx

    Craig-Tx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Yes, what he used is what is used in the termination of armor clad cable (which I believe includes BX). But I'm going to do what the subject in the video should have done and clearly state " I AM NOT A LICENSED ELECTRICIAN"
     
  19. CmdrThor

    CmdrThor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    866
    Location:
    Marietta, GA
    That is not true at all. A NEMA 14-30 receptacle can absolutely be used with a 30 amp breaker. In fact if you put a 40 amp breaker on a 30 amp receptacle, you would risk starting a fire because your receptacle is only rated at 30 amps.

    What needs to be limited to 80% of the circuit's current is any continuous load (i.e. an EVSE). He can only plug a 24 amp EVSE into this outlet. Like a Clipper Creek LCS-30P with a NEMA L6-30 plug to match the receptacle he has chosen.

    The biggest mistake the guy made was not using an old work box to protect the receptacle in the wall. Several other things people have pointed out are valid as well, but he did choose the correct wire, breaker, and receptacle.
     
  20. idoco

    idoco Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    Outside Philly
    You are correct. Not sure what I was thinking. Actually I was thinking I had a 50 amp breaker on a 14-40 (no such thing) rather than a 40 amp breaker on a 14-50.

    It sucks getting old!o_O

    P.S. I'll ask the moderator to delete the erroneous post.
     

Share This Page