Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Long Distance Driving Range

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone,

I just had a general question. I recently ordered my Tesla Model 3 Standard Range Plus here in Montreal Quebec (taking advantages of those sweet government incentives). Expected delivery in Jan/Feb 2022. I work as a Field Service Engineer and this would become my daily driver. The range is enough for most locations for me with a likely pit stop to charge up. My question is the battery efficiency in the winter. I spoke with the tesla representative in store and they mentioned in the harshest winter settings the battery will take a 30% hit in efficiency. I was just wondering if any other model 3 owners can confirm this for me with the harsh Canadian winters.

Thanks!

Play around with ABetterRoutePlanner to plan some typical trips. Compare consumption with summer temps against cold winter temps, snow on the ground, headwind etc. You'll see how much worse it gets. The important settings will be in advanced configuration. Take the time to familiarize yourself with it. All the settings correspond to an important aspect in consumption. Note that winter tires might make consumption a bit worse and that's not part of the settings.

Upvote 0
Depending upon what you consider to be "harsh", I think 20 to 40% lower efficiency is probably accurate. Here's my Stats data:
IMG_2454.jpeg

Upvote 0
Hi everyone,