TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Looking for a tesla

Discussion in 'Want to Buy' started by B_havens0914, Aug 5, 2017.

1. B_havens0914

B_havens0914 Member

hello there. I’m a high school student who doesn’t make much money, but looks forward to having a tesla one day. I work whenever I can, and am saving up to buy a tesla. I am completely on board with tesla and would love to drive a nice car that is good for the environment. I can’t stand hybrids and a leaf doesn’t get enough range. I’m looking to see if someone would be kind enough to offer me a tesla at a good price. I don’t care what kind it is, but I have to stay under 20k. I know that sounds low, but that is the absolute most I could pay. I dont care if the car needs some work, has been rebuilt, or is from 2012. I just love Tesla’s and would love to be apart of the tesla community. Thanks!

2. BluestarE3

BluestarE3 Active Member

#2 BluestarE3, Aug 6, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2017
    Sorry to burst your bubble, but you're not going to find a driveable Tesla for that price. Maybe by the time you're out of college, there will be used Model 3s in that range. Meanwhile, you may have to consider a used (non-Tesla) car if you need something right away. Don't feel badly that a Tesla isn't within reach at the moment. I've waited over 20 years for a car like the Tesla Model 3 (affordable long-range EV) to come into existence. Just be patient and after you get into the job market and save up your money, you'll be able to fulfill your dream.

• Like x 1
  3. cwerdna

cwerdna Active Member

#3 cwerdna, Aug 6, 2017
    Yep, even if there were a non-salvage title drivable Model S for under $20K, if one is that errr.... constrained, it sounds like the OP wouldn't be able to afford out of warranty repairs.