TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

LPT for homelink: add an inactive link

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by MrOteece, Jun 3, 2013.

  1. MrOteece

    MrOteece Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    California
    I frequently "missed" hitting the button to open the garage door when the car was in motion, instead opening up the settings for homelink. The other day I added a second homelink button for the other garage door, but never activated it. Nice side effect is that the settings button is now separated from the door button by some dead space. No more settings popping up.
     
  2. ken830

    ken830 Model S (Res#P12,447)

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    858
    Location:
    San Carlos, CA
    Nice tip!
     
  3. JerryNycom

    JerryNycom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    503
    Location:
    New York
    I added a second garage as well, but still see the settings button?!? Am I missing something?
     
  4. TelsaTap.com

    TelsaTap.com New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Califorina
    I also often mis-hit and press the Homelink settings as I'm going over some bumpy area just when I press. Hopefully some future update will greatly enlarge the area to touch, and maybe push the settings under controls. It really doesn't need to be so easy to press.

    Another idea, is when the homelink button appears automatically when the location senses it's near the garage, don't include the settings option at all.
     
  5. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,568
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Yep. Me too. I think I'd prefer some kind of medium-sized dialog box with a big button just pop up in the center of the touchscreen. Maybe even get crafty and make it look like the old clicker you'd clip to the visor.
     
  6. Vger

    Vger Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,685
    Location:
    Salt Spring Island, BC, Canada
    Good suggestion! While Tesla has done fairly well, they still sometimes forget how small some of their touchscreen targets are when the car is in motion on an uneven surface!
     
  7. MichaelS

    MichaelS Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    Hayward CA
    This is a good idea. But when I tried it, I found out that if you have the extra entry, the video greys out on the backup camera if it's on at the top of the screen.
     
  8. dfitz206

    dfitz206 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Seattle
    How about having Homelink when activated (for say 5-10 seconds) default to the right scroll button on the steering wheel. Then none of us would "mis-tap" and then the scroll button would be back to regular after that.
     
  9. Jason

    Jason Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    +1 for that

     
  10. RNG

    RNG Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Denver
    If you have more than one garage door linked, the scroll could allow the driver to select the appropriate door and pressing could activate the opener. I like this idea, don't have to reach for the screen at all.

    RNG
     

Share This Page