TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

LTE Upgrade, Did YOU Do It?

Discussion in 'Model S' started by tanner, Dec 31, 2015.

Tags:
  1. tanner

tanner Active Member

3G is INSANELY SLOW - maps take FOREVER to load and I want to upgrade mine to LTE... Has anyone done it? :confused:
    $500 doesn't seem bad, wish they had stuck to Elon's initial "it'll be a free upgrade" tweet, but whatever. :biggrin:

2. Muzzman1

Muzzman1 Member

I did it on my S85. I'm a complete tech geek, so I did notice a significant speed difference. To me, totally worth the $500. (I'm in socal too)

3. Xenoilphobe

Xenoilphobe Active Member

Did it on both cars. Well worth it in my opinion

4. jerry33

jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

I did it too. Well worth it.

5. patrick40363

patrick40363 Member

I will do it when my car is in for the annual in March.

6. tanner

tanner Active Member

Nice, I'm guessing maps load much faster?

- - - Updated - - -

Make sure you call them in advance to tell them you want to have it done during your appointment :)

7. jerry33

jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

Yes. Everything that goes over the air works faster.

8. Mike K

Mike K Member

I can't justify the expense. 3G works well enough in SoCal and I can tether to my phone if I absolutely need anything faster. If they were giving me a hotspot I'd be singing a different tune.

9. Jool

Jool Member

Had to use 3G in a loaner car and it was waaaayyyy slower than my LTE equipped car. Maps and Slacker songs load way faster with LTE!

10. NorCalSJ

NorCalSJ Member

I did it and would do it again in a heart beat. sooner or later your going to do it so why not now and enjoy

11. mhs

mhs Member

I highly recommend AGAINST it! Basically my car has been useless since I "upgraded" to LTE.