Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Major Bumper Damage Before Delivery

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I was supposed to pick up my X tomorrow but the SC called me today and said that the front bumper was damaged beyond repair. They think it happened during transit but aren't sure. They have ordered a new bumper from the factory and said it should be at the SC in FLL within a week or so. I have several concerns. In order to tear up a bumper that bad, is there other damage that isn't visible? There are a lot of sensors and lights in the front bumper. Is the SC going to be able to replace the bumper and reinstall all those sensors to factory specs including calibration? Should I reject the delivery? Should I request a price reduction for a vehicle that now has "prior damage"? I'm new at this and don't know Teslas that well. Could some of the experts at TMC please give your opinions. Thanks in advance.

After reading your message, I just looked up on Ebay to see what a Model X bumper would look like. It is possible just that piece got damaged. It has to be replaced as a whole from what I see.

upload_2020-6-25_17-28-46.png

They will replace all the sensors, lights etc. When you take delivery, just make sure that the fitting is good and there aren't any wobbly parts. look underneath the car as well as it should be tightly sealed. Not sure if continuous pressure from a transportation fastening belt during transportation had the frame crack.

upload_2020-6-25_17-47-0.png

Not sure about the price reduction options. If you find anything wrong, I think you can refuse delivery until it is fixed. I am assuming that will make sure that it is fully fixed before calling you in for delivery.