TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Manual firmware update (for new charge port)

Discussion in 'Model S' started by janisv, Feb 4, 2019.

  1. Galve2000

    Galve2000 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    826
    Location:
    NYC
    is this a US spec car or euro spec?
     
  2. kdday

    kdday Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    602
    Location:
    AZ
    It's probably euro, but that shouldn't matter. All of the above is region agnostic.
     
  3. janisv

    janisv Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Latvia
    Europe.
    But after plugging in city charger, then home charger works without warnings and chargee port pulses green :)

    Tesla really likes restarting, connecting
    /disconnecting, retries and whatnot.
     
    • Funny x 2
  4. Galve2000

    Galve2000 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    826
    Location:
    NYC
    the US spec charge port does not handle 3-phases.. that's why i am asking... is it Mennekes Type 2 or J1772?
     
  5. janisv

    janisv Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Latvia
    This one. IMG-20190206-WA0010.jpg
     
    • Like x 1
  6. gde_eu

    gde_eu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Europa
    For info : "Limited charging" appear when the plug is not well inserted. It still charge, but it's limited to 11 kw (Euro spec), so if you have the basic on board charger, it's also the max the charger can handle so you see no difference.
     
  7. Galve2000

    Galve2000 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    826
    Location:
    NYC
    That's european spec... very nice.. it should be charging from 3 phase normally.
     
  8. gde_eu

    gde_eu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Europa
    He was talking about 48 km / h which is what you get with 3 phases 16 A in Europe with the standard charger (11kw) so this plug is working correctly.
     
  9. Username1692

    Username1692 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    2545 Du Lac Trace, Seabrook, TX 77586
    Great read about problem solving. I am a frustrated 2018 Model 3 owner and wondering ... since I am not a software engineer, is this the car for me? I do not recall anywhere in my purchase agreement I was buying a vehicle in continuous beta test. I am getting tired of suffering the slings and arrows of being an early adopter. As Geoffrey Moore wrote in his book Crossing The Chasm, the most difficult step in making the transition in the technology adoption cycle is from early adopters to the majority (safely arriving well under the bell curve). Crossing this chasm from early adoption to majority is where most high tech ventures fail. If Elon wants to achieve success here on earth, he best figure out a solution for highly reliable connectivity on cloudy days, including Bluetooth, because I'd hate to be the first to file a Lemon Law suit.
     
  10. turbosetch

    turbosetch Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    United States
    Just a bit more input here. I have had the same sort of issues with the factory-redeploy.

    I have found the consistent way to make it work properly is to get connected but before you issue the command use the MCU to turn the power off then run the command. The car will then turn on and off a few times make a bunch of clicking then after 20-30 mins come back up.

    If you monitor /var/log/syslog and grep for cid-updater you can watch a lot of the progress as well as know when the firmware updates have finished. You may have to reconnect a few times when the MCU reboots. You can tell the process has ended when you stop seeing messages from the cid-updater, this is the process that performs the updates.

    Sometimes after the update you have to wake the car by opening the door, you might find the MCU is blue. At this point reboot with the buttons on the steering wheel and you should be good to go. I always do this while in the car with the doors closed and you can listen and see the car doing things to indicate the process is underway.

    I also find that if you do a factory-redeploy without skipping the APE then it will almost always fail with the gateway error.

    NEVER EVER pull the power during a firmware update. As said here wait an hour or so in some cases for this all to work.
     
    • Informative x 1
  11. brkaus

    brkaus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    4,852
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Sounds like you should discuss lemon law return or buyback with Tesla.
     
    • Like x 1
  12. laurynas

    laurynas Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Great topic. Thank you guys.
    I think I have similar issue. I have replaced my US radio to European one. Changed some parameters, restarted MCU and seems that radio is already working as expected, but I can still see some alerts:
    GTW_w131_tunerVersionMismatch
    GTW_w132_tunerDspVersionMismatch
    GTW_w133_tunerCalVersionMismatch

    Wondering if I can simply redeploy tuner fw only. Car is ready for new fw version, but I'm still postponing it. I'm afraid that new radio can cause some troubles. I can see that hardware is different, but are there any firmware differences? What if there are differences? Can it brick EU tuner while trying to upgrade it with US firmware?
     
  13. kdday

    kdday Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    602
    Location:
    AZ
    Go ahead and install your new software. It does a deploy of all firmwares the same as a redeploy does
     
    • Like x 2
  14. brkaus

    brkaus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    4,852
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    So, if I want to swap out a headlamp with something from eBay... I wait on a firmware update to be staged before installing it?
     
    • Like x 1
  15. Uncle Paul

    Uncle Paul Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,383
    Location:
    Canyon Lake,CA
    Am I alone in being simply amazed at what just happened in this thread.

    Bravo!
     
    • Like x 2
  16. turbosetch

    turbosetch Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    United States
    The firmware is already on the car. When you do a deploy as described it will check to see what you have and install what you need or are configured for.

    Although I think waiting for a software update may do the same thing...its a good question and someone with more experience with this may know. You could also call your Tesla rep and ask them to create a deployment package for you then you will be prompted for the software update as normal.
     
  17. kdday

    kdday Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    602
    Location:
    AZ
    Changing your car configuration will NOT work with a simple redeploy (IE if you change your headlamp type from HID to LED and then expect it to just "work").

    A redeploy only sends the existing car's configuration firmware to car components, so if you replace an existing part for the same part and just need it configured, you're good.

    Changing from one part to a different part (battery packs, headlights, motors, etc) requires far more invasive work to change the gateway configuration files. Not recommended unless you know what you're doing (which I don't).
     
  18. brkaus

    brkaus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    4,852
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Thanks @kdday - I was thinking the simple case of replacing like for like. Reason for my headlight example is the eyebrow on both of my lights are fading. Still under warranty and will have fixed, but mileage racking up fast. Evaluating extended warranty at the moment and thinking about cases after warranty expires.
     
    • Like x 1
  19. chammerbeck

    chammerbeck Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Great thread here. I don't have charge port issues but I was very intrigued with the whole Ethernet cable part. I bought the suggested cable off eBay. My S85 is out of warranty now. Figured it would be a wise "tool"(cable) to have on hand. Poking around a bit I have not seen too much. Is there a doc/thread with what exactly us end users can do via this port? I'm an IT guy and being able to telnet into my car really gets my curiosity going.....
     
  20. iamhtoo

    iamhtoo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Yangon, Myanmar
    @kdday it's great that you shared information about factory-redeploy. It took me a long time asking people around to know that one. I also learned that if factory-redeploy fails, you can also try service-redeploy too. But it takes longer (perhaps enough time to put back APE cable).
    I did not know about the skipping modules part. That's really helpful. Instead of skipping part, can we give it a list of modules to deploy? What else can you share about cid updater? I would appreciate anything you know.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC