TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Map/Internet...do they work across the border?

Discussion in 'Model S' started by Slipstream, Jun 17, 2016.

  1. Slipstream

    Slipstream Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Pacific NW
    Hi again everyone,

    Planning a trip to Canada from the US. Just curious if the Map/GPS and/or the internet in the Model S will work across the border.

    In the past I've had some phones/GPS units not work when the 49th parallel is crossed, so just curious in hearing from those who have done/do this commute.

    Thanks in advance for any info.
     
  2. PeterB

    PeterB Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yep, I've been to Vancouver BC from Seattle a couple of times in the last few months, both in a 2012 Model S and 2016 Model X, maps, nav, internet, streaming all work normally.
     
  3. mspohr

    mspohr Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,804
    Location:
    California
    Took a long trip from California through Seattle and then across Canada 1 to Banff last summer and connectivity was seamless the entire trip.
     
  4. Slipstream

    Slipstream Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Pacific NW
    Wonderful - thanks to each of you for the info!
     
  5. ZBB

    ZBB Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,419
    Location:
    Scottsdale
    That's a change at some point in the last 2 years -- and good to know.

    It used to be that Canadian cars would maintain connectivity in the US, but US cars wouldn't work in Canada. We drove up to BC a couple years ago, and connectivity dropped within meters of crossing into Canada. On the way back, I didn't get connectivity back up until I rebooted the center screen during a supercharging stop in Burlington…

    Peter B -
    Have you had the '12 long? Had you been up to BC in it before that was changed? I'm just wondering if all older cars (mine is a '13) will work.
     
  6. f-stop

    f-stop Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    580
    Location:
    Vancouver BC, Canada
    just as another data point -- the internet & GPS on a Canadian Model S work just fine crossing the border into the US.

    BTW if you're going on a cross-border road trip... an unrelated observation from my last road trip to WA state:
    when you cross the border, the speed limit icon that shows on the instrument cluster (part of the Speed Assist feature) automatically converts to your selected units. e.g. my car is set to km/hr display and when crossing into the US the MPH speed limit signs picked up by the car's camera automatically show in equivalent km/hr. Same idea should be true if you normally use MPH and cross to the north. So no need to change from your normal units
     
  7. Canuck

    Canuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3,964
    Location:
    South Surrey, BC
    Been going down to the States for over 2 years now and it works great. Less drops or connection issues than in BC since it's roaming up here.
     

Share This Page