TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

map updates!

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by tomp, Sep 25, 2014.

  1. tomp

    tomp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    I received a pop-up today saying 'Congratulations! Your maps have been updated' (not word for word, but that's basically what it said).
    The maps definitely were updated, as a road I know has been changed is now properly reflected.
     
  2. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Is this only in the non tech package?
     
  3. Chipper

    Chipper Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,182
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    NO. I have the Tech Package and mine popped up yesterday also. I got 6.0 about the third day after it was announced and it took this long to get the maps.
     
  4. steve841

    steve841 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,397
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Got mine too!

    I wish there was a version release listed .... that part sucks.
     
  5. dflye

    dflye S Sig Perf 414, VIN 814

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    One of only a few dozen features lacking in the overpriced nav system that are currently available in the cheapest of auto GPS receivers. :wink:
     
  6. Brass Guy

    Brass Guy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Location:
    Stoughton, MA
    This is only in tech equipped cars. Non-tech don't have maps stored on-board.
     
  7. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Thanks. What's different or simply updated guidance?
     
  8. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,556
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Looking forward to them here. The municipalities in my neck of the woods have been going crazy putting in "Roundabouts" (personally, I hate them) and the Tesla nav gets confused when I come across them. (i.e. tells me to turn left, but I actually have to enter the roundabout going right, then circle around and exit on the street to the left).
     
  9. gaswalla

    gaswalla P4201/85/airsusp/pano/19i

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,191
    Location:
    San Diego
    Hmm. I thought the maps were continuously updated on google maps. I guess it's data stored on the car
     
  10. Gizmotoy

    Gizmotoy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3,135
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    It's both. Navigon (Garmin) maps in the instrument cluster, which work both on and offline. Google maps on the center display, which only works when online.

    My Model S is never on WiFi, so presumably I miss out on the map updates, which the release notes said are distributed via Wi-Fi only. :crying:
     
  11. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    - 17" @ Google, internet required, updated on Google's schedule
    - Instrument Cluster @ Navigon, stored inside the car for those with tech package, updated on Tesla's (and Navigon's) schedule
     
  12. Eumox

    Eumox Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Austria
    I hope they change that. I never managed to connect to any wifi yet. (I only tried two wifi nets up to now)
     
  13. Merrill

    Merrill Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,096
    Location:
    Sonoma, California
    What kind of things are updated on the navigation screen, got 6.0 last Saturday but no map update yet.
     
  14. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,556
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #14 mknox, Sep 26, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2014
    I think the Google maps are, but the navigation maps are stored locally. Some of the new roundabouts that I mentioned in my post above do show up on the Google map, but the navigation map on the dash display (and corresponding audio prompts) still shows the old traditional intersection.
     
  15. AnOutsider

    AnOutsider S532 # XS27

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    11,923
  16. Robert.Boston

    Robert.Boston Model S VIN P01536

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7,842
    Location:
    Portland, Maine, USA
    I recall hearing/reading that the Navigon map updates will only occur when you're on WiFi. I'm hoping that the SC can install them, as my garage is not in WiFi range of my condo.
     
  17. Klaus

    Klaus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    444
    Has anyone checked the size of the map download?
     
  18. AnOutsider

    AnOutsider S532 # XS27

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    11,923
    Came out to the car after work and had map updates. Unsure if routing is part of that, but I plotted a course for home, and as before, it took me a very circuitous route. I'm sure there's improvements in there, but that's my first experience with it.
     
  19. jomo25

    jomo25 P4398

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,938
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    I'm never on wifi either. So mine haven't updated. Has anyone posted side by sides to show the difference? Or could someone if not?
     
  20. pete8314

    pete8314 Vendor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,947
    Location:
    DFW
    I don't think it has anything to do with being on wifi. Mine is on wifi at least 20hrs a day either at home or the office, and I do not have the new maps yet (but do have the v6 update).
     

Share This Page