TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

MCU upgrade/replacement for early vehicles

Discussion in 'Australia' started by Blue heaven, Dec 5, 2019.

  1. meloccom

    meloccom Moderator Aus/NZ

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,278
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Yes, was referring to the eMMC (embedded Multi Media Card) in the MCU ( Media Control Unit) but couldn’t recall the specific term at the time. Hopefully I got it right this time. :oops:
     
    • Like x 1
  2. Akikiki

    Akikiki A'-Lo-HA ! y'all

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6,096
    Location:
    Kaneohe, HI
    I apologize if I sounded as though I was nit-picking with you. It just one slip of the tongue so to speak becomes the understanding of certain terms for new folks.
    Merry Christmas.
    :)
     
  3. aegidius

    aegidius Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2018
    Messages:
    366
    Location:
    Brisbane
    • Like x 1
  4. DocAlsetAus

    DocAlsetAus Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2020
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Australia
    Had an MCU Tegra Update (from eMMC 8GB to 64GB) done at the Sydney (AUS) SC for around AU$500.
    Given the positive experience with US and EURO eMMC upgrades via 3rd party repairers I think that this is a more cost effective way to resolve the MCU1 issues compared to the AU$4000 MCU2 upgrade which was offered to me as well.
     
    • Like x 2
    • Informative x 1
  5. Vegas

    Vegas Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Are you happy with the performance - ie is it like it was when new?
     
  6. Oz Will

    Oz Will Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    The message we had was different - it wasn't a storage message but about being unable to restore the centre console and then unable to restore connectivity and driver settings. I can't recall it exactly. Once you got the car powered, early on it gave a message that driving the vehicle might restore settings (I assume because a loss of connectivity could be the result of no mobile coverage, so once you drove into coverage it would fix itself). Of course that doesn't work when it is a hardware failure.
     
  7. taco

    taco Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Canberra
    I've had a couple of flurries of glitches/crashes on my MCU1 in my '14 S85 with AP1, and raised a service request to check if the emmc was failing, but the service centre said it looked fine in the logs.
    They have now offered me a MCU2/HW3 upgrade for $4000, but it seems like a lot of money to spend on getting games and Netflix that I'll probably barely touch other than when I'm showing off what the car can do.
    The upgrade to 4G LTE from 3G connectivity seems like the most useful bit for when the 3G network gets decomissioned in a few years time.
    Should I just wait and see if the MCU2 upgrade price drops over time while my MCU1 still isn't actually dead?
     
  8. meloccom

    meloccom Moderator Aus/NZ

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,278
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    I’m considering an eMMC upgrade, which I understand is about $500. See post 104 above. It doesn’t give you LTE/4G but is way less expensive and when 3G closes down I’m pretty sure Tesla will be forced to offer an LTE/4G or hopefully even a 5G upgrade.
     
  9. Nuclear Fusion

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,966
    Location:
    Outside a bubble
    The quote isn’t for HW3 computer, just MCU2. Your car can’t get HW3
     
    • Like x 1
  10. rowdy

    rowdy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    205
    Location:
    Australia
    #110 rowdy, Jan 6, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2021
    Could happen with they way the AUD is improving. I also wonder if they'll include 5G in the coming years which may be a better time to do the upgrade.

    I've just had my EMMC replaced at 50,000km. While the MCU itself seemed to run ok I noticed that it would no longer save any settings. If I rebooted everything would be back to how it was before. The reboots also took a long time.

    I spoke to Tesla service and explained the problem. I asked if they had replacement daughterboards if the EMMC needed replacing. They said they didn't have any in stock but offered to upgrade to MCU2 for $4k. I said I was keen to keep AM/FM and would prefer to see if they could fix it. They thought they could if I brought it in which I did the following day.

    They tried to install the latest firmware and it appeared to be installing but then failed. Apparently the EMMC had run out of blocks. At that point they said they had found a daughterboard with new EMMC and I could pick up the car later in the day.

    I'm slightly suspicious that they really did have new EMMC daughterboards but are trying to steer people toward the $4k MCU2 rather than repairing the MCU1 units for free.

    There really should have been a recall on these flawed chips but instead you need to wait for it to fail and hope it doesn't leave you stranded when it does. It's terrible policy by Tesla for a component with such high failure rates.
     
  11. taco

    taco Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Canberra
    It's what's written on my service estimate
    MCU Intel HW3 upgrade - TegraAP1.0 EU-AP
     
  12. Krash

    Krash Data Technician

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    1,755
    Location:
    Intermountain US
    #112 Krash, Jan 6, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2021
    Musk stated over a month ago "our cars are about to transition to 5G"...

     
  13. Nuclear Fusion

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,966
    Location:
    Outside a bubble
    You bet they had it there already & that they were trying to force you to get the MCU2 upgrade
    I’ve got mine booked in today for the HW3 upgrade & they added MCU2 upgrade for $4K to the service document. I had to get them to remove it
    Tesla service is the pits
     
  14. Vegas

    Vegas Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I had the "Centre Screen Storage Degraded" message a few weeks ago. I booked it in to Brisbane Service, then did a lot of reading and research of others' experiences, replacing EMMC with 64GB board and with new MCU1. By the time I delivered it to service, I decided even if they replaced the whole MCU1 with another one - I'd need to also upgrade to LTE also, so I bit the bullet and paid the $4k - new MCU2.

    It is so good, everything works FAST, voice controls are fast, accurate and work, web searches and youtube works well, can easily watch netflix, route planning almost instantaneously - the whole driving experience is more enjoyable.

    Is it worth $4k? It is too much money really, it would be great value at 50% of that - but I'd do it again and I don't regret it.

    I'm planning to keep my car for several years. Considering the capacity of the MCU2 and the fact that my car only has mono cam/AP1, not 8 cams and sentry mode - MCU 2 should future proof it for some time.

    I recommend the MCU2 upgrade, if you can.
     
    • Informative x 4
    • Helpful x 1
  15. Nuclear Fusion

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,966
    Location:
    Outside a bubble
    With the exchange rate now at 0.78, it should be $3500
     
  16. mrpseudonym

    mrpseudonym Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hey @Vegas the upgrade gives you the multiple camera display when you are parking, correct?
     
  17. ARMARM

    ARMARM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2018
    Messages:
    325
    Location:
    Outer SW Sydney, NSW Australia
    Only if you have AP2.0 or 2.5, not AP1, but to be honest they're not that helpful as they're too small on the screen.
     
    • Like x 1
  18. Vegas

    Vegas Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    As Armarm said. I only have one cam:(, but the car is soo much better with a 2020 MCU and LT.
     
    • Like x 1
  19. Vegas

    Vegas Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    20210110_105106.jpg Screenshot_20210109-113102_Tesla.jpg

    Cannot summons. I've been getting this ever since I upgraded to MCU2 - which also coincided the same day with 2020.48.30 update.

    One of these must be responsible for this. anyone had similar, after one OR the other.

    Cheers
     
  20. tobygriffin

    tobygriffin Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Blue Mountains, Sydney, Australia
    It’s possible they're not lying. My display failed on New Years Eve, they ordered the part on the 4th Jan and apparently it hasn't come into stock yet.

    My appointment is booked for the 25th, and meanwhile my car's A/C is stuck on 24 hours a day - and so are the seat heaters. Well done Tesla.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC