TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

MCU2 Upgrade

Discussion in 'Model S' started by MurrayJimW, Sep 4, 2018.

  1. tyson

    tyson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    IA
    Right, but don't you think that with some software tweaks that MCU2 could spit out the Ethernet data to ic1?
     
  2. kdday

    kdday Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    768
    Location:
    AZ
    @verygreen please help kill the idea that mcu1 and mcu2 are different resolutions. I know this myth was started based upon the MCU unit browser self-reported data, but I believe you've confirmed mcu2 lcd screen is actually exact same resolution as mcu0/1, right?
     
  3. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,418
    Location:
    TN
    not over that lvds port I imagine, but in theory you can make the two talk. Tesla would need to do the fixing though.
     
    • Informative x 1
    • Like x 1
  4. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,418
    Location:
    TN
    yeah, it's part of the firmware. 1200x1920 on the big screen (both mcu2 and mcu1), 1920x720 on the IC.
     
    • Like x 4
    • Love x 1
  5. tyson

    tyson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    IA
    Yeah, I was assuming Tesla would do the tweaking in the firmware.
     
  6. ucmndd

    ucmndd Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,980
    Location:
    California
    Makes perfect sense. There has never been any indication throughout yellow-screen-gate that the physical LCD assemblies for MCU1/2 are any different.
     
    • Disagree x 1
  7. tyson

    tyson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    IA
    I think the confusion some have is that in the model 3 they changed the orientation and used 120px for the controls. This left 1920x1080 for the "screen". This was done on purpose I imagine to facilitate Netflix/other streaming service playback. S and X on the other hand will have no such luck... Gonna be a small viewing window lol

    I don't have to worry much about that though. I highly doubt they enable it for MCU1.
     
  8. dgatwood

    dgatwood Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2017
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, ca
    Only if they didn't also provide a connector for connecting it to an Ethernet bus.
     
  9. tyson

    tyson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    IA
    I would bet he has already taken a good look at it given his other work/research.
     
  10. ChrML

    ChrML Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Messages:
    545
    Location:
    Norway
    Isn't it most likely that they just leave the ethernet API used by the IC1 on MCU1 as it is in the MCU2 fw-build?

    API will be unused in the native MCU2 cars, but allows an MCU1 -> MCU2 upgrade without replacing the IC too. Most likely the API is already there on MCU2 or it's a simple matter of removing some #ifdef's.
     
  11. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,418
    Location:
    TN
    no. the current build does ic display from MCU itself as a second screen. they reused the same connector that was used for ethernet before for the display interface now so you can just pop out mcu1 and ic1 and pop in mcu2 and ic2 and not mess with the harness at all (also makes for a very small change at the factory line - pretty much just make sure you switched both parts)
     
    • Informative x 9
  12. SucreTease

    SucreTease Teslarian

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Messages:
    515
    Location:
    Huntsville, Alabama
    Doesn't that connector/cable plug into the MCU? If so, it implies that it would be feasible to build an ugrade-version of MCU2 with an IC1-compatible connector/interface that drives IC1 in the same manner that MCU1 did, which, in turn, should enable merely swapping out the CPU daughter board. Little new software needs to be written, as the original display driver could be used with this ugrade-version of MCU2.
     
  13. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,418
    Location:
    TN
    mcu1 did not drive IC1 though. IC1 is its own linux computer that talks to mcu1 over ethernet.

    as such I am not sure what you are talking about as the daugherboard. if oyu mean mcu1 tegra daughterboard to be replaced with an atom one - that's probably technically possible, but I don't think anybody seriously plans to do anything like it.
     
  14. bmah

    bmah Moderator, Model S/X, California Forums

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    2,806
    Location:
    Lafayette, CA, USA
    I've probably said this before, but I think that any upgrade path that requires any non-trivial amount of engineering work is just not going to happen. We can come up with all sorts of clever technical ways of making MCU2 drive IC1 the same way as IC2, etc. etc. etc. but any approach that requires product development is going to be seen as a distraction from other things that Tesla has to do to ensure its survival and long-term viability. Moreover if these upgrades do happen, they'll be creating new, little-tested car configurations, and I'd rate the potential for bugs higher compared to standard factory builds. I know that Elon has said it's possible, but just saying it doesn't make it so.

    Just my opinion. I have no insider information, and I hope I'm wrong.

    Bruce.
     
    • Like x 1
  15. CK_Stuggi

    CK_Stuggi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    280
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    I remember hearing someone mention in an MCU1 related video it should be possible to simply replace MCU1s Tegra3 by a Tegra4 pretty much without any software changes.
    Begs the question how complicated that would be too put in/onto the MCU1 circuit board, as my assumption is there aren't Tegra4 boards out there which are identical to the MCU1 board?
    And even if, would the difference in performance between Tegra3 and 4 even make a noticeable difference?
     
  16. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,418
    Location:
    TN
    The strange hangup that you need to make mcu2 work with IC1 is so strange. you jsut replace both and there's no problem. yes, that's like $300 more, but the customer is paying so who cares.
     
    • Like x 5
  17. Milkfloat

    Milkfloat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Random thinking aloud.... The model 3 has a combined MCU and AP3 computer (double board in a single module), could Tesla retro fit that and use existing MCU 1 as a dumb display terminal. A different software config, but no new hardware (just used in a different config).
     
  18. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,418
    Location:
    TN
    no. That would be totally impractical.
     
    • Informative x 1
  19. BPeter

    BPeter Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    Minnesota
    So, how hard would it be for someone to just purchase a used MCU2 and IC2 and stick them into an MCU1 car?
    Drop-in replacement? What kind of software modifications would be required?
     
  20. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,418
    Location:
    TN
    it's pretty much a drop-in replacement. I plan to try it soon once I get a bit of a free time.

    Now if you want the mileage/vin/car config to be transferred - that's something regular people cannot do.
     
    • Like x 6
    • Informative x 1

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC