TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Metric Imperial scale issue in Energy App

Discussion in 'Canada' started by DMC-Orangeville, Nov 3, 2015.

  1. DMC-Orangeville

    DMC-Orangeville 85D and John Deere 5100E

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    NW of the 6ix Canada
    I think I found an issue in the energy App, when used in metric. My morning commute is about 50 KM, and I realized that the energy used was going out 25KM (set at 50 - see below). When I toggled to imperial, at 30 miles (the same as 50 KM), the scale is correct. See pics below taken at the same point in time

    Anyone else notice this?

    scale.jpg
     
  2. beeeerock

    beeeerock Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,372
    Location:
    Kamloops BC Canada
    Yes, sort of. I didn't go to the detail of doing a distance conversion, but noted that going between 50 and 25 didn't show the energy at the left side of the 25 scale anywhere close to the middle of the 50. Adding that to what you've pointed out, I wonder if there is a conversion error on at least one of the scales. I'll have to look more closely (casual glance when driving is all I've done so far!).
     
  3. Judge Advocate

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Mississauga, On, Can
    Since the rest of the World is Metric, you would think that U.S. based Tesla would get their act together and priorities the Metric system on their cars worldwide.
    I think this is a case of someone there at Tesla, not aware that life exists outside of the U.S. and its "Imperialism"!
     
  4. PoweredByRain

    PoweredByRain Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    647
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    I think more likely it's a bug that isn't related specifically to support for metric. I have not changed to Imperialist units :) in the car and have never seen any mistake in the energy graph. The original poster's example seems to be a bug related to switching units - as if the variable that determines the horizontal scale was not changed, which it should be when changing units. I suspect that the same error will happen in the opposite direction. If I remember, the next time I go out to the car I'll try it out.
     
  5. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,568
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    I see what you did there :wink: Interestingly, the US even deviates from "imperial" units in the case of liquid volume: Imperial pint 20 oz. US pint 16 oz. Both imperial and US have 2 pints in a quart and 4 quarts in a gallon, but it makes US pints quarts and gallons smaller.
     
  6. DMC-Orangeville

    DMC-Orangeville 85D and John Deere 5100E

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    NW of the 6ix Canada
    I just got 7.0 2.7.77 today....and the bug was fixed. Nice.
     

Share This Page