TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Metromile insurance Pulse installation question

Discussion in 'Model S' started by Reekdog, Dec 17, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Reekdog

    Reekdog Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    Los Angeles CA
    IMG_3914.JPG I just picked up my 2016 model S and went with Metromile insurance. My Pulse device came in the mail today but my not sure where to plug it in. I was told that they insure many tesla owners and was wondering if someone who's using MM can tell me how/where to install it.

    It's supposed to plug into the OBD-2 port but my sales guy said he didn't know if the car has one. Pictures would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. Reekdog

    Reekdog Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    Los Angeles CA
  3. tonyquan

    tonyquan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    California
    Before getting into this there's a very high chance this device won't work, it just depends on what it's designed to do.

    Per federal requirements that all vehicles have an OBD-2 port, yes the Tesla does have an OBD-2 port. It's underneath the left side of the dash, near the "dead pedal" Dead pedal - Wikipedia
    The issue with OBD-2 devices and the Tesla is that OBD-2 doesn't make much sense on the Tesla. Most of what OBD-2 does is relay data that is only relevant for ICE cars. So while the Tesla does have an OBD-2 port, it actually doesn't do anything except supply power. None of the data lines on it are active. (The federal regulations don't require that the OBD-2 port do anything specifically in the Tesla's case) If the Metromile device needs any of the expected OBD-2 data, it will not work. If all it needs is power, then it may work.

    So go ahead and try to plug it in, but don't be surprised if it doesn't work/doesn't report any data to Metromile. In particular, I know that the OBD-2 port in a Tesla doesn't supply any mileage data (which is what an insurance company like Metromile needs), while the OBD-2 port in a gasoline car normally does. So I don't think the Metromile device will actually work. However, you can give it a try, it won't hurt anything to.
     
  4. tonyquan

    tonyquan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    California
    BTW a bit of searching showed this thread where a Tesla owner said the Metromile Pulse did not work, and they had to substitute a different Metromile device that plugged into the cigarette lighter instead. My guess is that this alternate device measures mileage itself using GPS or similar. Metronome with Tesla Model S? | Metromile Community
     
    • Like x 1
  5. JPP

    JPP Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,124
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    A GPS based device can measure speed/acceleration/deceleration and infer your driving habits (fast starts, speeding, fast stops, etc). Not sure what else these devices capture to give insurers the data they need/want to tweak your rates.
     
    • Like x 1
  6. Reekdog

    Reekdog Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    Los Angeles CA
    Thanks for everyone's response, I went ahead and took my car to the SC and they plugged in the metromile pulse for me. The red light came on and I immediately recieved a text from metromile letting me know it was activated.
     

Share This Page