TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Missed the memo? Slow supercharging close to home?

Discussion in 'Model S' started by GreenT, Jun 29, 2018.

1. GreenT

GreenT Member

Maybe I missed the memo.

So I have been using SCharging for over 5 years all over the country (USA) and close to home.
    Whenever I charge and my battery is below, say, 100 miles I get a charge rate of well over 130.

My home HPWC is temporarily unavailable so I used the nearby Supercharger.

Over 3 times over a week, I noticed that no matter which stall / bay I used at my local charger, my charge rate was at or below 85 yet my (SC) neighbors was well over 100.

Do Tesla now slow you down the closer to home?

I'd sooner ask here than drive 130 miles to the next charger to test it there.

TIA

• Funny x 1
  2. nevrenuf

nevrenuf Member

Not had that experience here. My close to home supercharger gets me over 240/hour regularly.

3. TexasEV

TexasEV Well-Known Member

Miles/hr rate at supercharger is meaningless, as it’s the average of the session. Power in kW is the instantaneous rate. Please report supercharging as kW at a particular state of charge in order for people to respond intelligently.

Note you can’t be getting “well over 130” if you’re talking about kW.

• Like x 4
    • Informative x 1
    • Love x 1
  4. Tesomega

Tesomega Member

You may want to look at the charge curve provided by ABRP to see if this matches your vehicle/SOC charge rate.

5. tpham07

tpham07 Active Member

doesn't happen to me. I visit my local supercharger when I end up driving way too much in one day. always hit 98kw (the max in my 75)

6. croman

croman Active Member

105kw is the max in the 350V packs. I've gotten 99kw briefly.

7. tpham07

tpham07 Active Member