Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Model 3: First 100 Miles Impressions from a P85D Owner

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I took delivery of my 3 on Monday. It’s apparently the 10th black Model 3 in New Jersey. I’ve been driving a Model S P85D for almost 3 years, so I thought I’d share initial thoughts from that perspective... and probably put together a video comparison. (I’ve also driven a recent P100D, so when I compare to the S, I’m also taking into account the latest iterations.) Also, note that I went into this knowing I’d be “beta testing” to a degree.

High level thoughts:

The design of the 3 feels cohesive and cleaner. For example, the latest S has some odd angles where the center console meets the 17” screen. At a certain point, you need a full refresh as opposed to making minor upgrades. That’s one example.

The 3 has superior sound in comparison to the S with premium audio.

The 3 has more refinements, like coat hooks, lighted vanity mirrors, better integrated (eg door) storage. It has a back seat arm rest with cup holders build into the center seat. Even simply things like the glove compartment... on the S, a pair of earbuds or a pen can “jam” the door by falling in the hinge. The 3 solves this.

The 3 has a much improved display, albeit smaller, with significantly faster response time. The interface itself looks more modern with clean, flat white icons that feel like 2018. The S interface still retains some older icons. Moving the map is noticeably faster and feels like a current generation iPad. Button presses don’t lag. Voice control feels faster, but that’s subjective.