Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Model S can be recharged faster than filling a gas tank.

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
elonmusk twited: There is a way for the Tesla Model S to be recharged throughout the country faster than you could fill a gas tank.

How come?

His next twit: Don't forget the mystery announcement. Part 5 of the trilogy.

It's interesting that when I thought about the mystery announcement I came out with 2 things that I thought would be possible and would be interesting: autopilot and battery swap. 2 days later I read about Musk talking to Google about self-driving and autopilot... Today I read about recharging faster than filling a gas tank... Am I a prodigy or what? :)

I studied robotics in a college, wait, around 25 years ago :) so I thought that with the floor-mounted battery it would be so easy to swap it automatically.

But swapping is not recharging. Battery swapping would be great, but it looks like it requires the change of ownership. You would then lease the battery from Tesla instead of owning it.

So if it is recharging, how would this be possible?

When I first bought some Tesla stock right after the IPO I thought about having a large lithium battery and a small supercapacitor. I thought about charging the super-capacitor VERY quickly, and then the super-capacitor charges the main battery in the next hour or so. The problem with super-capacitors is that they lose the charge MUCH faster than batteries. But if it just charges the main battery instead of keeping that charge, it will not waste much charge. I even wrote about this on some forum, maybe I needed to patent this? :)

Any other thought about this mysterious fast recharging?

elonmusk twited: There is a way for the Tesla Model S to be recharged throughout the country faster than you could fill a gas tank.

How come?