TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Model S damaged at SC 1 day before delivery. What should I do?

Discussion in 'Model S' started by NewEVOwnerMD17, Mar 20, 2017.

1. NewEVOwnerMD17

Hi TMS,

I'm new to the Tesla family and my DS called me this morning to inform me two cars were in an accident near the service center and one vehicle hit my MS 1 day prior to delivery. The SC sent a loaner 90D until the car I ordered is repaired which is estimated to take 3-4 weeks. One of my concerns is the car was damaged, should I request another vehicle or accept the accommodation of repair and loaner? I'm wondering if

1) Accept Tesla's offer
    2) Request a new vehicle from Tesla
    3) Ask Tesla for a price reduction because the car was damage

I'm starting to think I should request a new car and let Tesla figure our what to do with the damaged car. Would appreciate feedback from others.

Thank you.

2. Az_Rael

Az_Rael Supporting Member

I would ask for a new car. Who wants to start out with body work on a new car before you even get it? Even if the repair doesn't show up on Carfax if they have to paint, that does show up when you go to sell (unless you sell privately).

#3 might be an option as well, but I doubt Tesla will be willing to budge. They will argue the car will be repaired to new condition and not acknowledge the fact of the market that repairs of any sort diminish value.

Of course, this assumes you are purchasing the car and won't keep it 8-10 years (at which point the repairs wouldn't matter). I am not sure how this situation would affect a leased car.

• Like x 2
  3. Tech_Guy

Tech_Guy Ludicrous + you say, well I got Ludicrous -

if the damages are over a certain dollar amount I don't think they can sell you the car as new id push for a new car personally

• Like x 3