TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Model S Gen 2 TPMS in Gen 1 TPMS system. How does that work

Discussion in 'Model S' started by smeagolethan, Apr 16, 2018.

  1. smeagolethan

    smeagolethan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Orange County
    Hello i have a question. I have a 2013 MS and just bought some 19” slipstream take offs with Gen 2 tpms installed in them. Being my MS is 2013, i have the GEN 1 TPMS system. Would i be able to leave the GEN 1 system as is or do i have to upgrade to GEN 2 tpms system for the car. Please advise. Thanks.
     
  2. battleroyale

    battleroyale Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    164
    Location:
    Bay Area
    You'd have to upgrade the tpms computer to the continental version for the gen 2 tpms to work on your car. There is a tesla doc floating around on the internet describing the process as it is something you can pay an SC to do for you.
     
  3. Chaserr

    Chaserr Hyperactive Hyperdrive

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Messages:
    2,457
    Location:
    Logan
    Upgrade your car, the new system shows all pressures in the top-down display.
     
  4. smeagolethan

    smeagolethan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Orange County
    Would I get an error if I just left the GEN 1 system as is with the GEN 2 TPMS in the tires or would the set up just work as it was before. I don't need to know what my individual tire pressure is if I don't need to pay extra to have it upgraded.
     
  5. Jeevesbond

    Jeevesbond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Nj
    Not sure but if u find out u need gen 1 ill trade u! I bought rims
    And had installed and was sold the gen 1 tpms by mistake and i need new gen 2! Lmk
     
  6. smeagolethan

    smeagolethan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Orange County
    Thanks but i still have my stock split stars with gen 1 tpms in there. Just trying to figure out if i need to have them swapped out.
     
  7. Chaserr

    Chaserr Hyperactive Hyperdrive

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Messages:
    2,457
    Location:
    Logan
    Gen 1 & Gen 2 work at different frequencies, they don't work with the other receivers.
     
  8. SemiS3XYR

    SemiS3XYR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    422
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I'm in the same boat. Okay we all say the facts BUT has anyone actually tried to mount the gen 2 wheels on gen 1 car, sync via system and see what happens?

    Without unmounting tire how can I verify what sensors are on the wheels I just bought. Seller does not know.
     
  9. Stan Moraski

    Stan Moraski Brownout

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    217
    Location:
    Canton, CT
    I was in the same boat with new arachnids on my 2013 p85. Car read TPMS error, so I swapped out the sensors for gen 1 sensors and all is good. Any tire shop can easily swap them out.

    Like you, I saw no strong reason to have car rewired to see individual pressures. I hope this helps.
     
  10. SemiS3XYR

    SemiS3XYR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    422
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Doe you guys gen 1 sensors and system always say tire pressure monitoring system needs service whenever it gets close to freezing temps?
     
  11. smeagolethan

    smeagolethan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Orange County
    @Stan Moraski, thanks for the info, that's exactly what I needed to know. Now I have to find a tire shop that can do it for a fair price. I got quoted $35 a piece.
     
  12. Chaserr

    Chaserr Hyperactive Hyperdrive

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Messages:
    2,457
    Location:
    Logan
    No, and I live in a frozen swamp. Ask your S/C to fill your tires with nitrogen instead of just air, you may have too much humidity in there freezing on the sensors.
     
  13. Piney999

    Piney999 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    East of Pikes Peak, Earth
    Bump, What is the final answer to this question. IS there a way to retrofit a Gen 1 car to work with Gen 2 TPMS? Thanks!
     
  14. gaswalla

    gaswalla P4201/85/airsusp/pano/19i

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,991
    Location:
    San Diego
    Yes, you get the gen 2 (continental) module retrofitted into your car. It's a nice upgrade
     
  15. EKoS

    EKoS Model S P85 “Classic”

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Yes, definitely possible. You have to upgrade the computer *and* individual wheel sensors. Tesla upgraded my 2013 S to the Gen 2 TPMS last year when my Gen 1 system failed (I think the upgrade cost $500) - and I now get individual pressure readings on my instrument cluster; very convenient.

    As has been said elsewhere, mounting wheels that still have the old sensors after the you upgrade the computer will give you a TPMS error; you’ll have to update the sensors on any wheel sets you own.

    Speaking of which, anyone out there in the market for a gently used set of 4 Gen 1 TPMS sensors? PM me... :)
     
  16. treenewbee

    treenewbee Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    california
    I am interested in the gen1 TPMS. Please PM me as I couldn't find how to PM you... Sorry
     
  17. andyotal

    andyotal Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    95843
    Thanks Stan, I am in similar situation as I drive 2013 MS P85 currently have 21" turbine wheels and I am going to replace them with 19" slipstream I just bought used on this forum and I am going to use my existing gen 1 sensors and keep the gen 2 sensors if I need it in future. Thanks again.
     
  18. No CO2

    No CO2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2020
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Newbie here...are the Gen 1's the large sensors, or the smaller sensors?
    I have 4 of the larger sensors for sale.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC