TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Model S Homelink question

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by westerndh, Apr 8, 2012.

  1. westerndh

    westerndh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    I tried searching, does anyone know if Tesla will offer Homelink without the tech package?
     
  2. rlawson4

    rlawson4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Atlanta Georgia
    It's all or nothing as far as I can tell. Also, I called on Friday and was specifically told that there is not blind spot detection. It was explained that the earlier constructed Betas used mirrors from another car.
     
  3. Discoducky

    Discoducky Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,883
    Location:
    Seattle
    No, but if you or any other reservation holders want it, ask your Customer Advocate, several of these types of questions are answered within a day or two of asking and are an easy avenue to plead for future options.
     
  4. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,752
    Location:
    Texas
    A Homelink mirror is easy to add because it doesn't really interface with the rest of the car. I'm not real pleased with the one in the Prius. It seldom dims enough to avoid glare (even with the tricks) and it's always active--even when the power is off.
     
  5. AnOutsider

    AnOutsider S532 # XS27

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    11,923
    Homelink and auto dimming are two separate features though. They're often used together on rear view mirrors, but there are some homelink setups that are on the visor, and there are auto dimming side mirrors.

    That said, I also gather that to get it, you have to order the tech package. You can likely install an aftermarket visor or mirror with it though.
     
  6. BYT_P1837

    BYT_P1837 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    Redwood City, CA
    What is Homelink? I thought it was the ability to open your garage door from the car directly instead of a dedicated remote just for that? It's that what Homelink is? Confused so I'm asking.
     
  7. AnOutsider

    AnOutsider S532 # XS27

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    11,923
    Precisely sir. As mentioned, some integrate it differently, but overall it's the same. Usually 3 buttons in the car somewhere to control 3 different garage doors.
     
  8. BYT_P1837

    BYT_P1837 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    Redwood City, CA
    Thanks for the clarification AO.. :)
     
  9. gg_got_a_tesla

    gg_got_a_tesla Model S: VIN P65513, Model 3 Res Holder

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6,097
    Location:
    Redwood Shores, CA
    Ahem... Homelink can do a little more than open garage doors:

    HomeLink

     
  10. I bet the Homelink is standard on all Model S'...Probably will be accessed via the 17inch touch screen...On the Roadster homelink is integrated into the touchscreen
     
  11. BYT_P1837

    BYT_P1837 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    Redwood City, CA
    Ahh yes, I had that in my Accord before I sold it, could never get it to work with my Garage Door Opener and it was newer then the car.
     
  12. gg_got_a_tesla

    gg_got_a_tesla Model S: VIN P65513, Model 3 Res Holder

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6,097
    Location:
    Redwood Shores, CA
    I'll take that bet (can you please put one of your roadsters on the table?) :)

    Homelink is clearly listed only as part of the Tech Package option in the "Options & Pricing" page and is not listed in the set of standard specs over on the "Specs" page.

    Having gone over all that and my past experience with 3 cars equipped with homelink, I've only ever bothered to program the homelink transmitter in one of those 3 cars and that too, to open just the garage door; even that bit of effort went to waste shortly after when my garage door opener assembly itself had to be replaced (its plastic cogwheel had ground down to nubbins) - I've since simply opted to use the much more compact/sleek-looking garage openers themselves on the visor.
     
  13. It is kind of a PITA to program homelink, You need one person on a ladder manipulating the garage receiver etc, but it is well worth it after it has been programmed. Problem with hanging the garage door opener on the visor is I have had problems with the opener falling when flipping down the visor.

    I think Tesla should include more than 3 soft buttons with homelink. If someone has a gate + two garage doors and would like to control landscape lighting etc, you cannot do it with just three buttons.
     
  14. AnOutsider

    AnOutsider S532 # XS27

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    11,923
    Shouldn't you be off coding something? :wink:

    If its on the touch screen they can. I'd be happy with some physical and digital buttons. Common things on the physical and other less-commonly used things on the screen.
     
  15. It may be a license issue I have never seen a homelink transmitter with more than three buttons...have you ?
     
  16. AnOutsider

    AnOutsider S532 # XS27

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    11,923
    Nope, but I've also never seen one digital. The digital one in the roadster is also limited to 3?
     
  17. strider

    strider Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,918
    Location:
    NE Oklahoma
    I've never had trouble. Step ladder under the opener - push the learn button, you have like 30 seconds to hop down and push the button in your car, voila. I also don't like the button on the visor if you park outside as it's easy for someone to smack the window and open the garage door.
     
  18. yep.

    Found this interesting thread..

    Homelink garage door opener

    Seems like Homelink was included even on roadsters that did not have the "electronics package"
     
  19. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,752
    Location:
    Texas
    And if the car is parked outside, anyone can break the window, press the Homelink button, and open your garage too because Homelink is always powered up--at least that's how the car manufacturers implement it in at least some cars. So you either park far enough away so that the transmitter won't reach or you never leave the Homelink activated car parked at home if you're not.
     
  20. spatterso911

    spatterso911 MSP#7577 **--** MX#1891

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,213
    Location:
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Most home link buttons are actually deactivated when the car is off for that reason. All of my vehicles have home link, and none are activated when the vehicle is off. It can actually be an annoyance, for instance, when you pull into your garage at night, shut down your car, then reach to close the garage door with the home link...Yikes...gotta turn the accessories back on to get the button to work...

    My big hope is that the home link has enough strength to activate at a reasonable distance. My wife's car has to be right up on the garage door to get it to open.
     

Share This Page