TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Model S HPWC to Roadster for charging

Discussion in 'Roadster' started by ibcs, Dec 12, 2013.

1. ibcs

ibcs Member

Okay, I'm new with the roadster 9/27/13, but I need some insight.

Would it be possible to have a pigtail for the Model S HPWC to Roadster charging connector. I ask this because within the last two weeks Tesla has added 18 charging locations for Model S near their show rooms Columbus, OH, Cincinnati, OH and Indianapolis, IN. All within range of the roadster and great charging locations. Having the ability to use an HPWC for charging the roadster would be outstanding at 70 amps or any charge rate higher than 30 amps at 208 volts. I already have the J1772 CANN adapter which is great for traveling, but this would be perfect.

Thoughts - Could this be built?

---Kent

2. augkuo

augkuo Member

Once the 80A bug is updated in the roadster's firmware I'm sure Henry will have a new can available.

3. ibcs

ibcs Member

The CANN is not the problem, I'd be happy with almost any high charge rate I think it supports 70 Amps. I want to be able to convert the Model S HPWC to plug into Roadster connector. I think this would have to be supplied by Tesla.

---Kent

4. jbadger

jbadger Roadster #506

I'm surprised Tesla has not come out with one already since it seems they are no longer supporting the Roadster connector. There was one at the Santana Row store, and once it broke they replaced it with a Model S charger.

Henry is testing a Model S to Roadster adapter though, not sure what/when his plans for releasing are.

5. TonyWilliams

TonyWilliams Active Member